Recipes

Homemade Mayo!

 

Even with all the organic changes we’ve made with our foods here, I have still been unable to give up ‘regular’ mayonnaise. I just really enjoy the taste…and try hard NOT to read the ingredient list!

I have looked up online and in books several different homemade mayo recipes, but I was still unsure about switching to making my own. I mean, raw egg yolks? I am so used to baking that leaving the yolks raw in something kind of scared me. ๐Ÿ™‚

After looking over all those recipes and deciding on ingredients that work for us I found what I am certain is a keeper for us!

Homemade Mayo

2 egg yolks

2 TBSP apple cider vinegar

1 tsp yellow mustard

1 tsp sea salt

2 cups oil (olive, walnut, vegetable…really, whatever you enjoy the flavor of)

Blend egg yolks, vinegar, mustard, and salt together for about 5-10 seconds. I used my handheld mixer, but you could use a blender or food processor I suppose.

With mixer/blender running on low, slowly add in oil. Continue SLOWLY pouring in oil and mixing at the same time until all oil is added in. Mix on low until the mixture begins to emulsify (like when you making whipped cream and it thickens and then becomes stiff). Mix until it is thickened as you like, then turn off mixer. Do not over-mix…it will become like butter, just like over-mixing whipping cream.

Cover and store in the fridge. Makes about 2.5 cups of mayo.

We LOVE this mayo! It’s easy to whip up (literally). It stores well. I just stir it when I use it each time. I noticed the container I have it in isn’t sealed, so a dry film forms on top while it’s in the fridge, but mixing it up gets rid of that easily.

I have used this in chicken salad and on sandwiches so far. Hubby and the kids all liked it as well; I did not give any to Buddy yet…he doesn’t really eat condiments at all.

Another use for this mayo is to make Homemade Ranch Dressing. I didn’t realize that’s how people were using homemade ranch until I was researching the mayo recipes and people were commenting about using it for making ranch.

Here’s the ranch recipe that is to our liking:

Homemade Ranch

1/2 cup of your homemade mayo

1 TBSP coconut milk (plain, don’t add any flavored milk)

1 tsp dried dill

1/2 tsp Dried parsley

1/4 tsp minced garlic

Pepper

Combine all ingredients until well combined. Refrigerate. Makes about 1/2 cup of ranch.

LOVE this one too! The girls liked it on their salads and to dip chicken pieces in. Arthur and I liked it for salads, too.

These two recipes will definitely be the motivation I need to give up my chemically laden mayo and ranch dressings. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s to BETTER eating!!

 

One thought on “Homemade Mayo!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.