Gluten-free · Menu Plan

Menu Plan

Consistency. Still my word for 2017. And I have definitely had consistency with menu planning. It has been a real lifesaver some days. We are finishing up our school year, cramming tons of things in to finish up strong. Lots of fables and myths and history and math. Such a conglomeration of subjects to finish the year. Some days are a struggle, with the warmer weather, but we keep talking about how we can be outside even more each day if we can finish up our stories and lessons. šŸ˜‰

This week’s menu has no new items/recipes. Trying to keep it simple, as my husband will be working nine days straight! Hoping to just keep my sanity. Everything but the pizza is gluten-free, so I am just planning a big salad with some leftover chicken for myself that night. Avoiding gluten right now has been great for me. I don’t know if I will continue like this forever, but for now i just really like how my stomach feels each day, so I am sticking with it. I miss bread….a lot. But making it for the kids has been nice. Typically now I have been making both versions of bread items – regular and gluten-free. Most of the time, all five kids want to try the gluten-free; often they all like that version. So, if I did decide to go gluten-free for them, too, it wouldn’t be that hard, I suppose. But, without necessarily needing to, I don’t know that we would. Plus, when they eat elsewhere – friends’ homes, church, extended family’s homes – it might mess up their tummies to be off of gluten and then indulge. We’ll see how it goes. For now, experimenting is fun. Trying new gluten-free recipes has been great. And I haven’t had to increase our food budget, so all is well. šŸ™‚

Breakfast

Pancakes (regular and a gluten-free) x 2

Crustless Quiche w/bacon

Cereal or Eggs

Banana chocolate chip muffins (regular and gluten-free)

Scrambled Eggs, bacon

Quiche with sausage

Lunch

Leftovers

Mac and Salad OR Salad

Snack-type lunch (possibly park picnic, depending on weather)

Mexican Tuna Boats

Dinner

Grain-Free Chicken Parmesan, zucchini coins, carrots

Pizza OR Salad

Ranch Chicken Stuffed Peppers (or just the filling over rice, for my pepper hating family members), salad, veggies

Super Simple Crockpot Roast, Green Beans, Salad

Ham, Potatoes with gravy (sweet potatoes for me), Zucchini, applesauce

Breakfast for Dinner

Bolognese over pasta (spaghetti squash for me), salads, applesauce

 

Snacks

Energy Balls

Fruit (grapes, apples, bananas, strawberries)

Trail Mix

Granola Bars

What’s your menu plan look like? Trying anything new this week? Just hoping to get by? Feel free to share!

Leave a Reply

