Recipe: Baking Powder Biscuits

img_2567

We love bread. Can’t say it is the healthiest food to love, but we do. We especially love homemade breads. They are just so dang tasty. I prefer yeast rolls with dinners, but I don’t always have the time to make them for soup nights. As a runner-up, baking powder biscuits are super yummy. And if you make enough, you can enjoy them the next day for breakfast with butter and jam or as biscuits and gravy (my fave!).

I had been using a recipe from an old cookbook for biscuits, which were okay, but they seemed kind of dry, even with increasing the milk to make them drop biscuits. This newer-to-me recipe results in the perfect wet/dry ratio and consistency. I really like this one much better. I tweaked it just slightly to suit us, and I roll and cut out the biscuits instead of doing drop biscuits. That helps to keep their shape better.

Baking Powder Biscuits

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 TBSP baking powder

1 tsp salt

6 tsp cold butter

1.5 cups milk

Combine flour, baking powder and salt together. Cut in butter (in chunks), until the mixture is crumbly. Stir in milk until completely moistened. Dump onto floured surface and press/roll out to about 1/2 inch thickness. Cut whatever diameter you want for biscuits (I just use the ring from my canning supplies…perfectly big biscuit size!). Place on slightly greased cookie sheet and bake at 450 degrees for about 12 minutes (maybe a little more or less, depending on your oven).

I think this recipe makes about 12 or more biscuits (judging by the picture above), but now I can’t remember if I doubled it last time and ended up with 24 or even more than that. Regardless, it makes a lot. 🙂 And these biscuits are a great pair with a bowl of soup!

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

