Recipes

Recipe: Homemade “Nesquik”

img_2153

I stumbled across a really yummy recipe for a homemade “nesquik” a few days ago. I was looking another chocolatey item and saw this recipe. My kids LOVE chocolate milk, but I rarely make it for them. This recipe seemed simple enough to make quickly and keep on hand for breakfast!

So, this recipe popped up during my search, and we absolutely LOVE it. I read through some of the comments (thankfully) and found some tips for getting it to mix well with cold milk. A recipe we had prior, very similar to this one, didn’t really dissolve. The kids thought the chocolate chunks left were awesome, but I did not prefer the texture.

The recipe was found HERE. I am copying it here for those that don’t want to click the link. I forget the pinch of salt when I made it the second time, and we haven’t noticed a difference. Enjoy!!

Homemade Nesquik

1/3 cup cocoa (the better quality, the tastier the chocolate milk!)

2/3 cup powdered sugar (regular sugar seemed to take more work to dissolve)

pinch of salt

 

To use: add 1-2 TBSP per glass of milk. To help it dissolve well, add the dry mix to a cup first. Add just enough hot water to create a paste, which helps the dry mix dissolve. Add milk to the chocolate paste and stir til mixed in. 

Deliciousness!

Leave a Reply

