Cleaning · Kitchen

Homemade FLOP!

I am often too prideful to admit when something I made did NOT work out.

Buuut, there is no getting around this flop…

IMG_0555

Do you see that clumpy NOT LIQUID mess right there?! That was dish soap. It started out as a liquid, but overnight it became a solid.

I followed the recipe perfectly…but didn’t read all the comments, which clearly showed that some people’s results were like mine. The recipe for this soap was simple but I guess the settling of it allowed the dry ingredients to absorb ALL the liquid as it sat. I added a little warm water and mixed it up again – worked great. Then, a few hours later when I came to use it again, it was solid. So, the cycle ย began – mix in a little warm water and it goes back to liquid; let it sit and it goes back to solid…and repeat like TWENTY times a day! I kept telling myself I would use it and not waste the 16 ounces I whipped up, but the inconvenience became too much after like the second day. I didn’t have time to stand there and shake it back to liquid every single time I needed to use it.

So, I ditched it and grabbed a bottle of dish soap from Aldi. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ha! The complete opposite of the “natural” version I was trying to create, but what’s that saying….”ain’t nobody got time for that!” ๐Ÿ˜‰

I won’t say where I got the recipe because I don’t want to say her recipe was bad, but I know now to read all the comments on a post before assuming it is a perfect fit for me! It just seemed that more people had solids than liquid over time…so I won’t be trying that one again. And even though I wasted the 16 ounces (AND the bottle…because I couldn’t get it all out!), it really wasn’t much money spent on the ingredients. So, I feel ok about ditching it!

Do you make your own dish soap? Have a LIQUID recipe you could share with me?? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Homemade FLOP!

  1. Ugh! That’s the worst! I made dishwasher tablets and I thought they were great until I realized they were leaving a film on ALL of my dishes. I attempted to use everything I made, but the build up got so bad, I caved and picked some up at the store. Now my dishes are back to being film/buildup free.

    1. So sorry that didn’t work out. I actually wondered about the homemade tablets. I will probably not try. It can be so disheartening. BUT, it is better to just go with convenience than create more work (cleaning off the film/buildup after each load or, in my case, adding water and shaking for every single drop of soap!). Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

