Finishing Up A School Term

We end our Easter Term this week!

I am pretty excited for another week off. We didn’t get as far in a new book during group reading – we are struggling to really get into another book. We started The Five Little Peppers and Their Friends, but it isn’t as exciting as the original Five Little Peppers book. Hopefully, we will sneak in some group reading time even during our week off.

We are finishing up studying Benjamin Franklin. I am hoping to squeeze one more science project in between today and tomorrow, but Dad is off….so that may not happen. 😉

Spelling tests and Bible verse memory went well. We used the girls’ AWANA books and verses as some schoolwork as well; Iris had to dig into some info on a country and a missionary, so I counted that toward some geography and social studies. Ha! Everything counts, right??

Buddy’s formal reading time interested is waning, but he still asks me all throughout the day how to spell different words and what different things say….so I am learning to just go with it. He is only four, so I really do not want to push him. He likes memorizing how to spell names and things, so I will try to encourage him in that way and set aside the Hooked on Phonics for a bit. I am sure his interest will come back as he learns more about spelling and figuring out words. But, for now, I am easing up on formal reading time with him.

Addy’s reading interest came back a little, but she still just doesn’t have the desire to read books too often. She likes to be read to, so I plan to take advantage of that as much as I can. She will be seven this month, which is actually about when “experts” say kids should start formal schooling. I am leaning on that as my reason for not forcing her to do too much. She does have a weekly spelling test and learns Bible verses. She does math and whatever geography/history/science/other group subjects we do.

Iris and Lily are moving right along, still mostly learning all the same things. They have the same spelling lists and are at about the same level in math. My expectations of Iris and math were a little high; I expected her to love it like I did. But, that’s just not who she is…and I am learning to be ok with that. She doesn’t have to be a genius. 🙂 She has a lot of interests otherwise – fashion, designing/making dresses out of fabric scraps, making comics (she LOVES Archie comics), baking and cooking, and a few other things. I have started giving her a lot more room for developing those interests and not pressing her to be so into math. Don’t get me wrong – she still has to complete math assignments. But, her excitement over learning new concepts is not there, and I have stopped expecting her to be excited to learn long division. 😉

Lily loves math. So there’s the balance! Haha. She likes learning new math concepts, loves reading everything she can get her hands on, loves playing the piano (and has really started teaching herself, when I fell away from teaching her regularly). She really gets music – rhythm and notes and creating a tune. My husband loves this, as music is pretty much his second language. She also enjoys figuring out different beats on the drums, so I have learned to let her get loud upstairs on the instruments as long as she is learning things. It is hard for me, though….I really enjoy quiet; loud instruments combined with loud children can really drive me nuts.

Ethan is still just Ethan. 🙂 He learned how to spell his name but often leaves out the “a”. He and Buddy keep me on my toes with their behavior, which obviously feeds off of my behavior. So, I am really having to keep my impatience and anger and tone of voice in check. God really uses these boys to help me with my character weaknesses!

I have read and learned a lot lately about working with kids’ strengths and meeting them where they’re at. You’d think I would know this by now, five kids in. But, I am still learning. I do see a positive change when I drop my expectations and just find out where they are at and go from there. PLUS, we enjoy each other’s company much more. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Finishing Up A School Term

  1. I understand the whole idea of dropping expectations. The Lord has been speaking to my heart about that. I think I have unrealistic expectations. And you would think, 6 kids in, that I would know this by now. Evidently, I am still learning. I have to give myself some grace as God works with me. Thank you for sharing. Blessings.

    • Right?!….sometimes i wonder how i got this far with 5 kids. Haha! Definitely only with the Lord’s help! 🙂 so glad to hear i am not the only one struggling with this. Thank you for sharing! Hope you have a relaxing weekend. 🙂

      • I think one of the greatest gifts of having a large family is that I am always relying on God. I know from the moment I wake up that I have to surrender everything to God. I am kidding myself if I think I got it all under control…haha. God is faithful. I love it! I hope you have a blessed weekend.

Leave a Reply

