Household · Recipes

Homemade Skincare: Facial Astringent

I have used homemade astringent before. It was just plain old apple cider vinegar. I liked it…except for the fact that my face then smelled like it for at least an hour after (very strongly like it, in fact!) and any time my face got wet afterward, it would smell like ACV. So, if I used it after my shower in the morning and then we went outside and I started to sweat or it rained…the strong ACV smell would come back. I didn’t mind it too much…but it got annoying.

I quit with astringents all together for the past few months, but I have missed how clean and smooth my face felt after using it.

Then, I was searching Live Simply’s site and came across THIS recipe for a simple astringent using ACV….but also some other ingredients. I decided to try it, hoping my face wouldn’t smell so much like vinegar afterward.

The result? A wonderfully soothing and great-smelling astringent!! I think this one is a keeper. My face feels great like it used to, but I don’t smell the ACV afterward. Just lavender. šŸ™‚

Homemade Facial Astringent

1 cup distilled water (distilled will help it not go bad)

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

10 drops essential oil (I used lavender. It says you can use lemon BUT if you plan to do this in the summer and will be outside…be aware citrus oils can make you burn much more easily. So, you may want to avoid any citrus during the warm months when you’ll be outside often.)

Combine all 3 ingredients in a glass bottle. To use: wet cotton ball with solution and wipe face.

The lavender absolutely helps me forget there is ACV in it. I do not smell the vinegar at all, and my face feels amazing.

Do you make your own astringent? What essential oil do/would you use??

4 thoughts on “Homemade Skincare: Facial Astringent

  1. I am so glad you posted this. I was just wondering about homemade astringents the other day! I will definitely try this – maybe with lavender or grapefruit blend?

Leave a Reply

