Recipes

Recipe: Pasta e Cici

Sometimes I fall into a rut with my cooking. I stick to my same couple of real food recipes, and I don’t bother to venture out. It is safe and easy; I don’t need to put a lot of thought into the cooking…which can be nice on my super tired days.

But, I have been borrowing recipes from different real food sites and have found one that I will add to our “regulars.” It is called Pasta e Cici, which means ‘pasta and chickpeas’ from what I could find on the internet. Since we have tried the roasted chickpeas and found them to be yummy, I figured we could try them in a dish now.

My older boy does not like beans at all. He can spot those suckers in a dish from a mile away. I am not sure when his bean hate started because he used to eat them all the time. But now he picks them out of dishes and sets them aside on his plate. So, when I need to refer to garbanzo beans….I just call them chickpeas or he would never try them. 🙂

I enjoyed the blend of seasonings in this dish and the juiciness of the dish. It wasn’t dry (like a lot of my pasta dishes end up being) and it wasn’t completely like a soup. It fell somewhere between the two, and this dish was very delicious. Served with a salad, this meal provides a lot of good vitamins!

Pasta e Cici (serves 6-8)

2 TBSP butter

2 TBSP extra virgin olive oil

Sweet onion, diced (as much as you prefer)

3 medium carrots, sliced in rounds

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 TBSP tomato paste

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1 (15 ounce) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

6 cups broth

salt and pepper

2 cups dried ditalini

1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese (plus more for serving

  1. Heat butter and oil over medium heat. Cook onion, carrots, and garlic until tender. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  2. Add tomato paste, oregano, thyme, chickpeas and 2 cups of broth. Bring to boil and stir often. Simmer 5 minutes.
  3. Add rest of broth and bring to boil. Add in pasta and cook al dente, about 10 minutes. Stir often, so it doesn’t stick.
  4. Salt and pepper, if needed, Add in 1/2 cup of Parmesan Cheese. Stir to combine. Serve with extra cheese on top.

Yum, yum, yum! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

