Homemade Toothpaste

IMG_0530

I tried looking back to see if I ever shared my homemade toothpaste recipe, but I could not find it. We made homemade toothpaste in the past and liked it.

Now, when I say “liked” it, I mean we went into it understanding that it would taste nothing like store-bought toothpaste and learned to not gag after the first few uses. 😉

But really, I liked our homemade toothpaste. Bentonite clay, water, coconut oil, salt, and some essential oils created a fine toothpaste. I loved how clean my teeth felt! Then we fell away from homemade items because it was easier to order from a company I was working for. They made great toothpaste….but my teeth never felt as smooth and clean as with the homemade stuff.

So, for the past month, I was researching different toothpaste (and other house and bath product) recipes to see where we could save some money and still make our own…everything. I stumbled upon the amazing site Live Simply and found a great toothpaste recipe. It was heavier on the coconut oil and used quite a bit less clay. I decided to try it out because I was almost out of bentonite clay and totally forgot to buy it when we were at the health food store last week.

I LOVE this toothpaste! Seriously. I love the texture, the balance of salty/sweet, and the almost-no-dirt taste! 🙂 My teeth feel super clean again, and I haven’t gagged on the taste or texture. Since less clay was used, it doesn’t have the gritty dirt feel; it is more smooth like coconut oil. Also, I went easy on the stevia this time around – I actually think I would use a little more next time. It was a little saltier than I expected, but it wasn’t awful.

Here is the breakdown of what I mixed up….

Homemade Mint Toothpaste

1/4 cup plus 2 TBSP coconut oil (soft but not melted)

1/4 cup baking soda

1/2 tsp Real salt or Kosher Salt (I realize there is quite a difference between the two, but if you don’t have Real Salt and don’t want to spend the money….just use kosher salt for the texture needed. this is totally my opinion; I have no medical anything to support that statement. Ha!)

1 tsp bentonite clay (LOVE this stuff. it is like dirt gold!)

1/4 tsp stevia (next time, I would probably use more like 1/2 tsp for a sweeter taste…but that is just my preference)

6 drops peppermint essential oil

Mix all ingredients together WITHOUT USING ANY METAL ITEMS. (Clay should not be used with metal items because metal deactivates clay.) Store in a glass jar/container. I use a little wooden spoon thing to scoop out the paste onto my toothbrush. Next time, I think I would pick up a little travel/reusable squeeze tube made for pastes. Seems easier than scooping out of a jar.

It does not foam up like commercial toothpaste, so don’t be scared when it just rubs across your teeth without foam. AND, your teeth will probably feel super smooth when you are done – the clay and baking soda really help get the grime off of them!

REMEMBER: you are using concentrated essential oils in the toothpaste, so DO NOT swallow it. I know some people are into ingesting oils, but I am not. I would not recommend swallowing this. And if you are giving it to children, please make sure they are old enough to understand they should not swallow it. I have not allowed my kids to use this particular recipe.

I will share another day about homemade mouthwash that I tried, but a SUPER AWESOME mouth rinse is hydrogen peroxide. It whitens teeth and really helps heal mouth issues. 1 tsp each of hydrogen peroxide and water – swish them for a full minute, spit, and rinse. Voila! Your mouth will feel so clean!

So, what’s so special about homemade toothpaste?? Well, the degree of “special” depends on how concerned you are about commercial toothpaste. Coconut oil has amazing cleaning and healing properties. Baking soda also cleans well. Real Salt is mineral-rich. Bentonite clay has great toxin-fighting abilities. Stevia is a much better alternative to the artificial sweeteners found in commercial toothpaste. And the peppermint oil is mostly for aesthetics (because no one wants salty dirt in their mouth), but it also helps with bad breath. 🙂

 

Have you ever tried homemade toothpaste? Love it or hate it? If you haven’t tried it, would you ever?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

