Recipe: Broccoli Bacon Salad

This year for Easter, I get to bring Broccoli Bacon Salad to my parents’ house! I love this salad. I don’t know where it originated, but I copied it down from my mom’s recipe. It is so yummy, and other than the mayo and sugar in the dressing, it is pretty healthy. I haven’t tried to change the dressing to make it any healthier – it is just so tasty as it is!

For the salad items, you would just cut or add as much of each item as you’d like and add the dressing until you think it is covered enough. You can also easily double the dressing, if you needed to make a big salad.

Broccoli Bacon Salad

Broccoli, cut into small chunks/pieces

Bacon – cooked crispy and then crumbled

Diced Red Onion – 1/2 cup or more ( I like a lot more than 1/2 cup and more than most people, so I keep it at less for when others will be eating with me)

Raisins

Combine all in a bowl and stir to evenly distribute each item.

For the dressing, mix:

1 cup mayo

1/2 cup sugar

2 TBSP apple cider vinegar

Whisk all together and pour over salad to evenly coat. Refrigerate and toss before serving. I often keep a little of the dressing off the salad until I am ready to serve.

This is such a yummy salad any time of the year!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

