Recipe: Aquafaba

IMG_0414

I really like saying that word…aquafaba. It is fun to say. And it is fun to eat as well!

I heard of aquafaba last Summer but decided not to try making it because the idea of it actually made me gag. The water from a can of chickpeas?! Made into a sweet item?? Ew!

Friday, though, I decided to make roast chickpeas as a fun treat….and had two cans’ worth of chickpeas liquid left over. So, I decided to give it a try and make the aquafaba.

Turns out, this concoction is extremely yummy! For those with allergies, it can also be gluten-free and dairy free and vegan! It is a great alternative to whipped cream for desserts. And, if you are like my boys…you will try to eat it by the spoonful.

I should warn you, this recipe makes a TON of aquafaba. I had read this warning on other sites sharing this recipe…and I totally ignored it. I just went ahead and use the two cans’ liquid. Next time, I will probably cut the recipe in half. But, I clearly won’t need to make this again for an eternity with the amount we have!

So, here it is, in all its glory….AQUAFABA!

  • Liquid from two cans of chickpeas
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup white sugar

Combine all 4 ingredients in a stand mixer and mix for 10-15 minutes until firm peaks form.

That’s it, folks! Again, this recipe makes a lot… I had to store it in two containers in the fridge! I read it will keep in the fridge for about a week…so we are going to find all kinds of ways to use it this week. 🙂 And if it goes bad before we do, I won’t worry because this literally cost me pennies to make!

IMG_0417

This would be good as a cupcake frosting (pretty light and fluffy) or as filling for a whoopie pie! I am also thinking of giving it as a “dip” with fruit or as a spread for banana bread or on a pie! I will let you know what I use it for and how it goes!

Do you make aquafaba?? How do you use it??

Leave a Reply

