lessons in love

The Lord is My Stronghold

Psalm 27: 1, 4, 14

The LORD is my light and my salvation;
whom shall I fear?
The LORD is the stronghold of my life;
of whom shall I be afraid?

One thing have I asked of the LORD,
that will I seek after:
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD
and to inquire in his temple.

Wait for the LORD;
be strong, and let your heart take courage;
wait for the LORD!

I have found a lot of strength and peace in these verses. The last 14 months have been a real trial, financially. We have learned to REALLY trust in the Lord to provide – not to lean on our own knowledge or ideas or plans. We had to earnestly seek Him and trust Him with all details. I say a “real trial”, but I understand that we were not poor or homeless or without food…so I know it is not a trial to 90% of the world’s population, but it was definitely way outside our comfort zone and nothing we could stop. We absolutely just had to trust God to lead.

To be honest, it has been EXTREMELY difficult for me to do this. I typically rely on myself for money issues or finding solutions. God, though, has brought us through financial times in the last year that were way beyond my experience or intelligence. There was literally nothing we could do on our own; we had to rely on Him. While I fought to let go, and while I complained during the tough times….He led us to where we needed to be and showed us just how awesome He was in EVERY.SINGLE. STEP. It is truly amazing to see Him work, if we’ll just let go. And money is a tough one to let go, my friends. 🙂

This week, we received some disheartening news…about money again. I immediately turned to myself to try and find a solution. About 30 minutes into my worry and anger, I realized I was back where I was 14 months ago, and I needed to let go right at the start of it. I prayed about it the night we learned of it, as well as the following morning. And wouldn’t ya know, my quiet time that next morning included Psalm 46…

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” (Psalm 46:1)

Once I let go of it and gave it over to the Lord, things became a little clearer. I saw beyond the initial shock and could form some questions to ask and a direction to take. I was also able to reach out to my closest church friends and ask for prayer. One gal called me to pray with me over the phone, and I knew that was one of the reasons God wants us to just trust Him. When we let go of it and see beyond ourselves, we can share with others about our need and we can draw closer with them in prayer. It not only blesses us to be prayed with, but it blesses others that we want to share with them and ask them for their prayers.

We do not have our answer or solution yet, and maybe we won’t have what we think is a favorable outcome, but I am trusting God to keep His hand on it. He is working it all for His perfect plan, even if it means we don’t get our way! 😉 If you are going through a less-than-favorable time right now, I just want to encourage you to trust God with it. He is working on us to perfect us, even if the process is painful. And perhaps this difficult time is an opportunity for you to reach out to someone close to you – to share with them, to grow closer to them through prayer over the situation, to encourage them through their own tough time. Don’t keep it in; reach out to someone…you never know who you might be encouraging by sharing your struggle or your need for prayer. Give them the chance to

“Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep” (Romans 12:15)

They want to go through it with you – to weep with you. They also want to share with you when you are able to rejoice in it.

So let them!

Leave a Reply

