Recipes

Recipe: Creamy “Marsala” Chicken

I had a wonderful recipe for Marsala Chicken…and then I couldn’t find marsala wine. Call me stupid, but I seriously just couldn’t find it! Aldi doesn’t carry it, and my kids were getting slightly (or more than slightly) annoyed that we were wandering the wine aisles at Meijer for an insane amount of time, so I gave up looking. I thought, “Oh, I’ll just sub in beef broth instead of the wine!” I had done that before in our lentil soup when I didn’t have red wine.

And then I forgot to buy beef broth…

Ugh.

Last night, I decided I needed to use the fresh chicken and make the dish…winging it as I go. I breaded the chicken and cooked them, but I used chicken broth instead of beef or wine and it turned out pretty amazing! Oh, and I omitted the mushrooms as well. Didn’t even put them on my grocery list. (You could say I was a little out of it making my list…apparently.) So, this ended up being nothing like Marsala chicken. HA! But, it was yummy. We had it with asparagus sautéed in olive oil with sea salt, pepper, and garlic powder. All of the kids had two helpings of the asparagus, surprisingly!

Creamy “Marsala” Chicken

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips

Flour, spread out on a plate

Sea salt

Pepper

Olive Oil

1 cup heavy cream

1 1/2 cups chicken broth

Noodles (we used egg noodles, but the original recipe said penne. any kind would work, or you could omit them. I ate my chicken without noodles and just spooned the cream sauce on it.)

  1. Rinse and pat dry the chicken strips. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Coat with the flour and set aside.
  2. Heat a little oil (maybe 2 TBSP or so) in a large skillet on medium-high heat. In shifts, cook chicken strips til cooked through and browned. Remove to a plate and cover.
  3. Meanwhile, cook noodles and set aside.
  4. After chicken is all cooked, reduce heat to medium or medium-low and pour in chicken broth. Stir constantly, scraping bits off both of pan. Cook down for 5-8 minutes.
  5. Pour in heavy cream and stir constantly til sauce is thickened. Don’t let it boil/burn.
  6. After sauce is slightly thickened and completely mixed together, add chicken strips back in pan and coat with sauce. Cook until all warmed. Remove from heat.
  7. Serve chicken and sauce over noodles or alone.

We don’t eat meat as a main item very often ($$!), as it is usually in casseroles or soups. So, this was a nice change, and everyone loved the flavors!

 

One thought on “Recipe: Creamy “Marsala” Chicken

Leave a Reply

