Menu Plan

Menu Plan

IMG_2589[1]

After a very rough last week, I am making it a point to include more whole foods and less processed in our menu this week. Our bellies were just all messed up fighting whatever was going around. not everyone here vomited, but we all have stomach issues. My menu plan for last week went out the window Tuesday, at the first sign of illness. I ditched most of our foods for bland, easy-to-digest foods like brown rice and chicken and homemade broth. We drank a lot of our apple cider vinegar drink, and it helped settle tummies.

It took me quite a while to decide on this menu, but I think it will be delicious for us this week. My littlest sister is visiting at the end of the week. SO excited! I tried to stay away from anything too crazy, as she probably wouldn’t like any vinegar pie. 🙂 (Seriously, though, that pie is good! I made it once, and only a few of us tried/liked it. Apparently it was very popular a looong time ago, and I don’t know of anyone who makes it regularly now. But I do know my sister would not like it!)

Breakfast

Scrambled eggs, whole wheat toast, fruit

Brown Sugar and Cinnamon Oatmeal (quick oats, not old fashion)

Pancakes x 2

Whole Wheat Biscuits and Gravy, fruit

Crepes w/syrup and berries

Cereal (treat for the kids…and my sister), Eggs (for Arthur and I)

Lunch

Grilled Cheese, Applesauce, popcorn

PB&J Smoothies, tortilla chips, carrots and ranch

Cinnamon Raisin Bread w/cream cheese, fruit, hard-boiled eggs

Leftover Pizza from dinner

Whole-Wheat Waffle sandwich (with cream cheese and cinnamon…and raising for those that like them), fruit, carrots and ranch

Bean burritos (hoping to start crockpot refried beans the night before), avocado, apple slices

Buttered noodles

Dinner

Chicken and Cheese Tostadas, Salad

Crockpot Whole Chicken, zucchini chips, wild rice

Chicken Marsala (no mushrooms) over pasta, Asparagus spears

Bacon Brown Rice Risotto, Salad

Salmon Cakes, Pasta, Cooked Carrots (this is a MAYBE dish. I have the ingredients, but I am nervous about the salmon cakes…..I have never had salmon. But the recipe picture I have looks so yummy, and I LOVE crab cakes.)

Pizza (Aldi’s Take and Bake – my easy, day-of-grocery-shopping dinner)

Fried Rice, Salad

Tortilla Soup (meatless), Avocado, Salad

Snacks

Greek Yogurt with berry sauce (homemade sauce…yum)

Granola Bars

Homemade Larabars

Popcorn (air-popped, probably with a little honey and cinnamon drizzled on)

Blueberry Lemon Bundt Cake

 

Also, after many weeks of not working on our food stockpile, I resumed working on that. I know I posted about storing food before, but we actually ended up using some of our stockpile this past year. Things with our rental home turned bad, and we had to make a lot of tough financial decisions. There were a few months when we were stretched so thin, I pulled from the stockpile to complete my menu plans. Let me be clear, we were never without food. God provided every single month, and we even saw that He blessed with more than we actually needed. BUT, I do believe that one of the reasons He put it on my heart to keep extra non-perishables on hand was because 2015 was going to be tough for us. I am so thankful we had the foods stocked up!

So in February, I typically look to stock up on breakfast items. Sticking with a (for the most part) whole foods menu plan can make stockpiling a little tough, but here is what I plan to stock up on:

  • Boxed cereal (if we need to use the stockpile, I am not going to care if it is cereal we are eating for breakfast….because we will at least be eating!)
  • Oats (we eat a lot of these anyhow, so I am happy to stock up on them. Aldi has great prices and quality for oats.)
  • Pancake Mix (I am hoping to get some homemade dry mix made and thrown in the freezer. It keeps well, and we avoid the extra crap of the boxed mixes. If I can’t get my mix made, I will just grab a couple of boxes from Aldi, and slowly work them into our menus before they go bad in the months to come.)
  • Syrup (My goal is to stock up on pure maple syrup…but sometimes the price of one bottle keeps me from grabbing extra beyond what we will use that week!)
Leave a Reply

