That’s a Wrap!

mms_picture

What a tough week!!!

Tuesday morning, about 2:00 AM, Lily woke up to vomit. Then again at 3:30AM, as well as a few other times after that. (It is all a blur now…)

We had been hit with that crazy stomach thing going around! I have heard of so many families from church having it since the New Year, but I thought for sure we had dodged it. NOPE! And it is the craziest bug ever. Lily slept for about an hour around lunch time, and then she felt totally fine the rest of the day. The next morning, she felt nauseated again and threw up once after having some kefir to drink (that was my fault!).

Iris ended up with a bad stomach ache all day Tuesday and ended up vomiting just once around 3:00PM, and she has been fine ever since. No fevers for either girl, and no one else got it. Such a goofy thing. Not long-lasting but just enough to make ya feel gross.

So, Monday we were able to do some schoolwork. Tuesday turned out to be crappy. We did a little group reading while the sickies laid around, but that was about it. Wednesday was a little better. Disinfecting took priority, though, so we mostly just read our history and group reading book. Thursday Dad was off, and I had a meeting, so we didn’t do much. Today we are getting some math, history, group reading, Bible, spelling, and copywork done. (Talk about cramming a ton into one day!!)

I am so ready to be done with this week. We missed all kinds of appointments/playdates, the girls missed their church club on Wednesday night, and I racked up $3.00 in library fines because I kept forgetting to renew a movie and we hadn’t left the house to return it! UGH!!

These kind of weeks happen now and then, and I am learning to just go with it. Sickness just stinks. Even though we are home, doing schoolwork makes them more nauseated, I think. Unless they have been lying and just trying to get out of doing things…hmmmm.

Anyway, I am calling it for the week – That’s a wrap, people! I am spent. My washer and dryer have really gotten a lot of use this week. My emotions have been on a roller coaster with all the “my tummy hurts” claims  – some unfounded, by the way….it’s amazing how quickly a three-year-old picks up ways to trick mom! My nerves are shot. I have probably had a gallon of coffee this week. It’s just been rough. And I wasn’t even sick! I can only imagine how the girls’ bodies feel now.

While we didn’t accomplish much this week, I am going to go ahead and high-five myself for keeping people alive, fed, and clean. I am also going to high-five myself (without telling my husband! HA!) for not burning down the house when I left the stove on for over an hour after reheating some soup for the kids’ lunch Wednesday. So thankful there was at least a little bit left in the pot, so it didn’t burn and start a crazy fire!

Definitely time to end this week!!

Anyone else out there have a crazy, out-of-the-ordinary week?? Please tell me I’m not alone!! 🙂

3 thoughts on “That’s a Wrap!

  1. Crazy weeks are my specialty!!! It is never easy, but every day I get through, I know I do it through God’s strength, not my own. It puts a smile on my face thinking about it. God is faithful even through the craziest weeks! Blessings.

Leave a Reply

