The Attack on the Family

I think I have mentioned before, but our Life Group through church (like a small group, but we “do life” together…get it?) went through the series The Family ProjectIt was a really great series about God’s design for the family.

That series really got me thinking about a lot of things. One of which is my family. Of course, I think of my family all the time, but it really opened my eyes to just how precious the family unit is and how careful and detailed God was in designing the family. Of all Creation, He set apart time to make man in His image and laid out the details of how He did it and with what care He used.

Genesis 2:7 – “then the LORD God formed the man of dust from the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living creature.”

Genesis does not give an account like that of any other of God’s creations. And then there is the detail on how He created woman…

Genesis 2:21-22 – “So the LORD God caused a deep sleep to fall upon the man, and while he slept took one of his ribs and closed up its place with flesh. And the rib that the LORD God had taken from the man he made into a woman and brought her to the man.”

He does not take that kind of time when creating anything else in Genesis. Obviously, God has great love and care for his creations, man and woman. Genesis 2 goes on to explain His design for man and woman by way of family…

“The man said, ‘This is now bone of my bones, And flesh of my flesh; She shall be called Woman, Because she was taken out of Man.’ For this reason a man shall leave his father and his mother, and be joined to his wife; and they shall become one flesh.” Genesis 2:23-24

They become ONE. They are a team. We are created in God’s image. God took great care in creating us. And wouldn’t you know it, Satan jumped right on that and found a way to try and mess it up.

“Now the serpent was more crafty than any beast of the field which the LORD God had made. And he said to the woman, Indeed, has God said, ‘You shall not eat from any tree of the garden ‘?” Genesis 3:1

Of course, we know that even with that huge mistake and the ruining of the perfect garden, God created a way of redemption and life went on. Satan did not conquer – he may have won that battle, but we know he doesn’t win the war. 😉

But back to my thoughts on family – Satan is still out to screw up that most delicate creation….the family. He is out to ruin marriages, relationships between parents and children, brothers and sisters. He wants to destroy it all because the family is a true reflection of the Trinity and since we bear God’s image…he most certainly wants it tarnished!

So in all the learning I’ve been doing through our Life Group series, through reading on my own, and just from being so much more aware of Satan at work here in my own home, I wanted to encourage whoever might read this.

Even if you feel like you’ve lost the daily battle to Satan within your family….he doesn’t get to win the war! Those that have read Revelation see the final chapter of Earth’s history. Satan loses, for good.

I struggled with some serious pride two weeks ago with my husband. It was MY pride I am referring to, not his. 🙂 I wanted to be right, regardless of how wrong I felt. And I ruined a whole evening because I just wouldn’t get off my little ledge of pride. Letting my husband be right felt like I was losing, and for some stupid reason I would not lose. (I wasn’t losing, really; I was just going to have to admit I was wrong…and I clearly was wrong!) I didn’t sleep well that night, and I finally apologized the following day. I recognized that pointless argument as Satan working his way into our home and ruining an opportunity for us to reflect Christ in our marriage. I allowed him a foothold to build a wall, even if temporary – still a wall, between Arthur and myself. Time that could have been spent growing closer to each other, I allowed it to be wasted. A small victory for Satan.

Being more aware of how Satan works on a family, I am seeing more often I can step back and look at a situation and see it for what it really is. My children don’t hate me. I haven’t ruined them. My husband loves me. I am a good mom. BUT, he sneaks (sometimes not even sneaking, he often bursts through the front door!) in and distorts the reality to make it seem like the kids are awful or that I am no good or that my husband doesn’t really love me. AND IT IS SO WRONG! When I stop and consider the situation, I can restore the relationship being attacked before it gets too crazy.

I am so thankful to be learning so much through church, Life Group, on my own, and in talks with Arthur at night. And then being able to apply it each day to strengthen my family, to guide my children, to grow closer to my husband, and to grow closer to the Lord.

It is obvious Satan is at work on the family – just take a look at society. BUT, we don’t have to give him a foothold in our own families.

We can trust God’s Word and have hope in the fact that the Lord will win the final battle!

“but fire came down from heaven and consumed them, and the devil who had deceived them was thrown into the lake of fire and sulfur where the beast and the false prophet were, and they will be tormented day and night forever and ever.” Revelation 20:9b-10

Leave a Reply

