lessons in love

Being Teachable

Last week, I was on the hunt for a book on cd that I could listen to while I make dinner. The kids are always off playing or watching a cartoon while I make food (when they aren’t all trying to “help” me make dinner, that is), and I figured I could find a good book to listen to and help me with my goal of reading more. I found the audio book, Family Revival: God’s Wisdom at My House by James McDonald. I knew he was a good preacher/speaker, and I had not read anything of his. So, I thought I would give it a try.

WOW! I was blown away by the truth this man speaks. The amount of Bible verses he uses to back up what he is teaching is amazing. I LOVE when pastors use a lot of Bible verses during their sermons. Our pastor does this all the time, and it really helps me with being able to reference all the instances that the Bible talks about a certain topic. Mr. McDonald does a great job of listing multiple references (both Old and New Testament) to support his statements.

The audio book is 7 cd’s. I just finished up number 4 this evening. It was about training our children. The cd before that was about marriage.

Let me tell you about conviction, people! It is real. And I felt it…..more times than I would like to admit!

Lately I have really felt led to try to TEACH my children more, with regard to how to act and behave and obey. Of course, as soon as I determine to work on something, Satan gets in there to mess it up. I have had an ache in my neck, like a muscle ache, for a few days. (I think my really old pillow is not supporting my head well. And maybe looking down at my iPhone too much isn’t helping. And my poor posture. And probably a hundred other things.) Of course, the ache aggravates me and my little amount of patience is lessened even more. I find myself yelling more than I desire. I snap at the littlest things. And I express to my kids over and over that I am trying to teach them how to behave…although, the yelling and screaming probably does the exact opposite of teaching!

And then today, I am listening to the cd on training our children. I am secretly hoping the kids are listening to the part when he is talking about kids needing to be trained and taught and needing to be punished, so they understand consequences for defiance of authority. And then he goes ahead and talks about how parents need to behave: calmly, without anger in their spanking, helping the child understand what they SHOULD do and not just what they shouldn’t, having patience with the repeat offenders, and so on.

I start thinking about how teachable my kids need to be, because lately they are just so naughty and defiant….

And then I stop and consider how I have been. I have been skipping my Bible time. My prayer time is rushed and not a priority. My focus is on others’ bad behavior and not my own. I am constantly complaining to the kids about their behavior but have not once shown them a correct way to respond to a problem. Rather than express my need to take my problems to the Lord in prayer, I just sit and whine. All I have done is shown them how to yell and scream and complain. And then they do exactly that with each other, and I wonder why they are doing it!

What conviction this afternoon! Clearly the Lord knew I needed to hear that exact part of the audio book…today. And He knew that at that moment this evening I would be ready to hear it. My husband is working late tonight, so he wasn’t home talking with me during that time. My kids were busy playing elsewhere, so it was quiet in the kitchen except for the audio book.

I think sometimes as moms we get caught up in making sure our children are acting right, that we forget that how we respond and act is how they will. If I expect my kids to be teachable and trainable, then I HAVE TO BE TEACHABLE AND TRAINABLE. And how can I be trained and taught, if I am not spending time reading God’s Word? How can I hear the Lord, if I am not spending time talking to Him in prayer? How can I expect my kids to be loving and forgiving and compassionate and patience and merciful…..if I am doing none of those things???!!

Proverbs 1:8 tells children to “not forsake your mother’s teaching.” But, I am not giving them any teaching worth holding on to!

Titus 2:5 says women should “be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands,…” What an awful job of that I have done lately!

Thankfully, my God is more powerful than my sinfulness. Daniel 4:37 tells me “…those who walk in pride he is able to humble.” And boy did He humble me this afternoon!! I am so thankful for His patience with my slow learning and for his mercy and forgiveness.

I just wanted to share what is probably so obvious to you all, but I just realized today. 🙂 In order for my kids to know how to be teachable and trainable…I must be teachable and trainable.

Let me just tell you, God is doing some big things over here in our home. And I can’t wait for the day when I can share it all with you. For now, all I can say is that God is good…all the time. Regardless of what Satan is trying to do around us, as long as we keep our focus on God and trust Him to carry us, He will. And nothing is strong enough to knock us out of His hands.

Makes me think of that song:

My God is so big, so strong and so mighty. There’s nothing my God cannot do.

🙂

 

Leave a Reply

