Homeschool · Household · Organization

Checking In

Since having the stomach flu here, we have been very off our normal routine. My husband was off all last week, so school had a break. πŸ™‚ A sort of unplanned Spring Break. It was great, but I am also happy to be back on a routine this week. Call me crazy, but I love knowing exactly how our day will go (well, how it SHOULD go)!

This past weekend, I did our lesson plans a completely new way. It made me both very nervous and excited at the same time. I have been reading and researching and pouring over articles and books about the Charlotte Mason method of homeschooling. I have been envious of moms that have pulled it off. I have longed for the schedules I read about. I have just been so drawn to it, yet I was so afraid of it.

Why?

Because it is a LOT less of a rigid lesson plan than I am used to. It is pretty much NO WORKSHEETS. It is A LOT more books. More reading aloud. More group time.

All those things require MORE PATIENCE…than I have had this school year.

But, I prayed about it and found a peace in planning out lessons using this new method. Saturday and Sunday I spent planning and planning and planning all these fun new things. On Saturday, the kids and I went to the library so I could check out the 30 books I wanted to incorporate (ok, not 30….it was about 22, I believe) into the lessons and learning.

I picked Five Little Peppers and How They Grew as our first read aloud book. I had never read it, never heard of it. I wasn’t sure how the kids would like it.

BUT THEY LOVE IT! I have never had all the kids begging for more chapters when it is time to stop reading. I have never been so excited about a storyline. πŸ™‚ And it suits every age of my kids. Even Ethan, two years old, pretends to be some of the kids in the book while he is playing.

I will post more on how I am planning it all out, but new things for the kiddos include: Spanish lessons (!!), poetry, a nature study, art study (like of actual artists – this is NOT my strength), and music study (this IS my strength; we are studying Bach….I’m in heaven, really, because I am learning a lot as well!). We are doing MORE hands-on things like making boats out of soap bars and studying and drawing plants that are native to our area.

So all this new stuff in our schoolwork has kept me away from the blog. I am ok with that. It will just take some getting used to, in figuring out how to get back to regular posts. I also picked up my Melaleuca work and crochet work, so that has occupied some of my afternoon time as well.

And now it is time to start getting the kids ready for bed! Where does the time go?! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

