Healthy-ish Snickerdoodles

I was calling my Snickerdoodles “healthy”, but I realized they aren’t really healthy. There is still a ton of sugar and white flour in them. 🙂 BUT, I replaced the chemical-filled shortening with the much-easier-on-the-body coconut oil. So, I’m calling them “healthy-ish”….just to feel better about baking them today.

Something about Snickerdoodles makes me think of my mom. These are one of my most favorite cookies, and my mom’s always turned out perfect when I was little. So, thinking of my mom today. 🙂

Snickerdoodles

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup butter coconut oil, softened

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp cream of tartar

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Cream butter, coconut oil, sugar and eggs. Add in flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt. Be sure it is thoroughly mixed with no chunks of coconut oil or dry ingredients (getting a bit of baking soda chunk is gross. trust me.).

In a small bowl, combine 2 TBSP sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon.

Roll dough into about 1″ balls and roll through cinnamon/sugar mix. Place on ungreased baking sheet about 2 inches apart and bake 8-10 minutes, just until barely set. DO NOT BROWN THEM…they harden and are not as delicious.

Remove immediately from pan onto cooling rack. Try not to eat them all as you go. It will be difficult. Again, trust me. 🙂

Makes about 5 dozen, depending on just how big or small you make the balls. I get a different amount every single time!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

