Recipes · Uncategorized

Recipe: Homemade Energy Bites (no-bake!!)

I have a recipe for energy bites that I think I have made twice. Not that I don’t LOVE the idea of energy bites, but the recipe included ingredients that we do not buy often and would only buy for the recipe. (I also killed my Ninja processor making the recipe the last time, so I dreaded trying it with my new food processor!) The ingredients included figs, apricots, and dates. We probably should eat those more regularly but we don’t, so I rarely felt like buying little bits of each at Whole Foods just to make a few energy bites that only a couple of us liked. And organic figs, dates and apricots can be PRICEY!

Yesterday, while we were stuck inside due to snow and cold, I decided to whip up my own basic version with items we always have on hand. They came out very yummy, and I am excited to experiment with other ingredients the next time!

Again, this is a BASIC recipe, and I would encourage you to add in even more healthy ingredients!! So many ways to make these.

Energy Bites

1/2 cup peanut butter (we used creamy, but crunchy would be good, too! also, you can sub any nut butter probably.)

2 handfuls of toasted almonds (yes, that is an EXACT measurement. HAHA. next time, I think I will soak and dry them first for better digestion)

1/2 cup honey roasted peanuts (store-bought. and delicious)

chocolate chips (i just shook the bag and knocked some into the bowl. maybe 1/2 cup, but you can do more or less, depending on what you like.)

raisins, probably about 1/4 cup

cried cranberries, probably about 1/4 cup

1. In food processor, put almonds, peanuts, raisins and dried cranberries. Pulse until mixture is crumbly (not getting mushy but also not too big of pieces).

2. In mixing bowl, place peanut butter. Dump processed mix from #1 and the chocolate chips. Stir until mixed together well.

3. If very mushy and soft, place in fridge to firm up enough to make into balls. Otherwise, using small cookie dough scoop (or your hands), make into balls and lay in a dish/container/plate covered with wax paper. Refrigerate for about 25 minutes or until balls are firm and less sticky.

Our smaller balls made about 19….which will NOT last long here. I only let everyone eat ONE of the bites, and we’re already down to 12! I will either double the recipe next time or use more ingredients to get more bites out of it.

Some ideas for ingredients:

other dried fruits,

wheat germ (definitely adding this next time),

ground flaxseed (and probably this next time, too),

rolled oats (or soaked steel-cut),

honey (for more sweetness),

chia seeds,

crispy rice cereal (for crunchiness),

cocoa powder,

coconut,

and anything else that sounds delicious in a raw bite!

I want to try to make these again today, adding in wheat germ, ground flaxseed and some oats. I have been reading about soaking grains before eating them for better digestion…so I am not sure if I will just throw in some rolled oats or soak some steel-cut oats and make the bites tomorrow with the soaked oats. Decisions, decisions.

Do you make any type of homemade energy bites? Care to share your favorite ingredients for them??

 

Leave a Reply

