Recipe: Ham, Tato Corn Chowder

I have a lot of soup cookbooks. I love them all. Most of them have a chowder recipe that includes corn. I don’t always keep cans of creamed corn on hand, so I get bummed when a chowder recipe calls for it.

Last week, I REALLY wanted a corn chowder and, of course, didn’t have the creamed corn. So, I improvised to create a Ham, Tato, Corn Chowder. “Tato” is how most of my kids refer to potatoes. 🙂 So, I named it appropriately for our household.

2 cups diced ham (I used leftover from a large ham we had earlier in the week)

3 large potatoes, small diced (I used Russet, I think. Whatever I had in the pantry.)

1 1/2 – 15 oz cans corn, drained (Save the leftover 1/2 can to throw in another soup! Or use 2 full cans in this recipe.)

6 cups chicken broth

2 1/4 cups milk

4 TBSP butter

1/4 cup flour

1/2 cup diced celery

1/2 cup diced onion

1/4 cup finely diced carrots

Cheddar Cheese

1. Melt butter in stockpot. Add in celery, onion, and carrots. Cook on medium heat until veggies are tender (maybe 7 minutes or so).

2. Add in flour and mix to coat veggies. Cook about 2 more minutes. Slowly stir in broth one cup at a time, making sure it mixes well and thickens before each addition.

3. Add in potatoes and bring to boil. Lower heat and cook until potatoes are tender and can be mashed. Mash slightly to thicken soup. Then stir in milk. Mix well.

4. Add in corn and ham and heat through. Serve topped with cheese!

This was so delicious. I did not salt it at all because the butter had salt, as well as the broth and ham. It was perfect, unsalted. We ate this with homemade biscuits and salad.

Leave a Reply

