Recipe: Broccoli-Topped Potatoes

I had planned to make the Broccoli-Topped Potatoes from the $5 Dinner Mom cookbook I have. HOWEVER, things got a little crazy and then I realized I didn’t put the potatoes in the oven to bake! It was Sunday…the day we have to eat dinner by 4:30 to leave by 5:00 to get to church for AWANA. Yikes!

If it was a potato for just myself, I would have done the microwave. Seven potatoes in the microwave, though?? Not gonna work.

So, I decided to adjust the recipe and made mashed potatoes with sour cream and homemade ranch. I was pleasantly surprised with the results, and everyone ate it for dinner and then for leftovers the next day! Win!!

Broccoli-Topped Potatoes

7 potatoes (I used the baking potatoes I had planned to actually bake), peeled and cut into quarters

1/4 cup homemade ranch (or bottled)

Sour cream

Whole Milk

Butter

Fresh broccoli, cut into pieces

Cheddar Cheese

1. Boil potatoes in water until soft.While cooking, steam broccoli in pan (or in rice cooker, if it is like mine and has that steaming tray – LOVE IT!).

2. Drain potatoes and mash slightly. Then add in ranch, sour cream (to taste), milk (to taste), and butter (to taste). Mix/mash to desired consistency.

3. Spread potatoes in 9×13 baking dish. Top with broccoli pieces. Sprinkle as much cheese as you like over broccoli.

4. Bake at 325 degrees until cheese melts.

YUM!

We topped everybody’s serving with some extra sour cream. It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

