Bake It Tuesday

photoI have an old cook book from my elementary school. The Mothers Club had a cook book made up as a fundraiser. My mom gave me a copy when we went through my Grandma’s things when I was older. I think this cook book was made when I was in 4th grade, which would have been about 23 years ago…I think. I recognize a lot of contributors’ names, and my mom has several recipes in there! I often browse the Cookies and Desserts sections to find something new to make, but I usually end up making my “regulars” from the book. 🙂

The other day I was scanning the cookie recipes and found one for Mrs Fields Chocolate Chip Cookies. I cannot remember what a Mrs Fields cookie tastes like, but I figured with all the sugar in the recipe it had to be good! The recipe makes 5 dozen cookies, which works perfectly for us because, with seven people, a batch of cookies (typically 3 to 4 dozen) goes quickly during the week! So, I whipped up these cookies for our Small Group and to keep here for snacks, and they turned out so delicious! I think the quick oats in the recipe creates the chewy softness. Mmmm.

Normally, I think about changing something in a recipe for the next time to try new flavors, but I will not be changing a single thing about this recipe. They were so good!

Mrs. Fields Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 lb butter (2 cups)

2 cups sugar

2 cups brown sugar

4 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 cup quick oats

5 cups flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

24 ounces chocolate chips (3 cups)

Mix all ingredients. Form into balls about the size of golf balls. Flatten slightly when placed on ungreased baking sheet. Bake at 350 – 375 degrees for about 12 minutes. Makes 5 dozen. Dough can be refrigerated.

*I did change a few things in the instructions to remind myself for next time. I combined the butter and sugar well, then added the eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl, I mixed the oats, flour, salt, soda, and powder. I made a well in the dry and added the wet ingredients. After thoroughly combined, I folded in the chocolate chips. I started my oven at 350 but it was taking longer for the cookies to set, so I moved it up to 375 degrees and they were PERFECT at about 12 minutes. I let them sit on the pan for about one minute before moving them to a cooling rack.*

If you need to bring a snack for a group or meeting or party, take these cookies. It makes so many, and they are absolutely delicious!

Leave a Reply

