Recipe: Homemade Vapor Rub

It is that wonderful time of year….cold and flu season! šŸ˜¦

Since working to switch our household over to more natural foods and products, I have been creating a natural vapor rub for my kids when they are congested. I love the smell of Vick’s rub….however, the ingredient list is a bit ridiculous. After doing a lot of reading, I decided rubbing a bunch of chemicals on my kids wasn’t going to be ok anymore. I mean, we have enough sensitivity issues with my children’s skin and different products. So, we are skipping all the chemicals and trying to use our own homemade vapor rub as often as possible.

Ok, so I still have a container of the Vick’s Baby rub in my closet….for those times when I get lazy and don’t have our homemade kind mixed up. I have used it a handful of times, and I cringe when I do use it because I know it isn’t as helpful as the homemade version.

Anywho, no judgment if you use the Vick’s or other store-bought kind. I just wanted to offer up the recipe for our homemade rub, since it has helped out my little ones with their congestion…..and left out all the unnecessary and harmful ingredients. AND it only requires two ingredients!! There are some great recipes for vapor rub with beeswax and shea butter, which I am sure are great. I just typically have only these two ingredients on hand for our Rub.

 

Homemade Vapor Rub

1/4 cup coconut oil

10-18 drops of tea tree (also called Melaleuca) oil

5-10 drops of lavender oil (optional, but creates a relaxing and calming scent….and helps decrease tea tree oil scent if you find that too strong)

1. Warm coconut oil in pan or in microwave (just about 15-20 seconds) until melted.

2. Add in tea tree oil drops (and lavender, if using) and stir to combine.

3. Pour into glass jar and store at room temperature.

TO USE: Use just like a Vick’s rub. Scoop a little on your finger and rub directly onto child’s chest before bed, during the day, whenever! It will help aid their breathing and the lavender (if used) will help calm them and help them sleep.

 

I have a couple stuffed up kiddos this week due to weather changes, I think. Going to mix this up today and keep it close by for the coming months!

 

Leave a Reply

