Kitchen · Recipes

Recipe: Apple Pear Sauce

My kids love pears!

I do not.

BUT, I do love how inexpensive they can be this time of the year. So, I looked up several pear sauce recipes, but I did not find one that made me overly excited to mash pears and eat them. Until I saw people mixing pears with apples to make an Apple Pear Sauce! Genius!

I created a ratio of 2 to 1, apples to pears, just to be sure the pear taste wasn’t overwhelming. (I know, I am a baby about the pear taste!) Here is what we ended up with….and it is YUMMY!!

Apple Pear Sauce

6 pounds apples (we had a mix of gala and a few golden delicious)

3 pounds pears (we had Bartlett on sale locally)

Cinnamon, optional

Juice of 1 orange

2 TBSP lemon juice

Peel, core and cut apples and pears. (Yes, the pears become so juicy and slippery you will be extremely annoyed by them!) Heat on medium in large pot with about 3/4 cup of water. Cover and cook down, stir occasionally, for about an hour. Lower the heat slightly if it seems the water is evaporating faster than the fruit is getting mushy.

After an hour, remove lid for good and stir and mush fruit. Cook until fruit can be smashed with a wooden spoon. Remove from heat and use potato masher to smash all fruit into a chunky sauce (or run through the blender in batches to get a thinner sauce). Stir in juices. Add cinnamon to taste.

Tah-dah!

I believe I did slightly more fruit than I posted here, and I ended up with 4 1/2 quarts of sauce. I canned (water bath, 25 minutes for quarts, 15 minutes for pints) the quarts and refrigerated the pint.

Apples are on sale again this week, so I do plan to get several more 3-pound bags and work on more sauce. One of my FAVORITE things about Fall!!!

Leave a Reply

