Recipe: Tomato Paste

With all the tomatoes we have had this Summer, I was forced to get creative with how I preserved them. After freezing about 40 or more cups of marinara sauce and canning several pints, I decided to try tomato paste. I searched online for a good recipe and found a few interesting ones. The first I found said to use sweet red peppers with the tomatoes, but I didn’t like that idea. I just wanted plain old paste….nothing seasoned or different. I read through several of the recipes’ steps and decided to make my own recipe based on what I read. It turned out tasty, and I am happy with the results.

Tomato Paste

Tomatoes (Roma is best, from what I read, but I used all kinds. I had about 5 lbs)

Olive Oil

1. Rough chop the tomatoes and place in large stockpot with about 2 TBSP olive oil. Heat and stir until soft enough to push through a sieve by hand.

DSCN3038

 

 

 

 

 

2. Run all tomatoes through sieve to remove skin and seeds. Discard skin and seeds. Return juice to stockpot.

DSCN3037

 

 

 

 

 

3. Heat juices to boiling and simmer for several hours, stirring every 15-20 minutes to keep from sticking. Sauce/juice should reduce by at least 1/3 and thicken (like paste from a can, or close to it). It will darken as well. Once thick and dark and at desired consistency, turn off heat and let cool in pot.

4. Put into storage containers and freeze or can.

I ended up filling 3 pint jars with 6 oz in each jar (since that is the measurement of a small can I use from the store).

DSCN3041

 

 

 

 

 

You start with a TON of tomatoes and end up with this tiny amount of paste. It almost seems like a waste. Happy I tried it, but I would probably just make a sauce or can the tomatoes next time to feel like I was able to use more of them!

One thought on “Recipe: Tomato Paste

Leave a Reply

