Recipe: Easy Chicken and Rice

Sunday evenings are busy here. The kids eat an early dinner at 4pm before we head to church at 5 for AWANA (kids’ program). I often rush to feed them snack-type foods…if I didn’t stay on top of things and get a meal cooked during the afternoon. This past Sunday, I fed the kids macaroni and cheese and some raw veggies, but I knew my husband would be hungry when he got home at 9:30 PM after working a late shift. Mac and cheese was not going to cut it! So, I used my awesome (NOT!) cooking skills and whipped up this gem. Turned out pretty tasty, and I am tucking it away in my recipes to use again. Total cook time was maybe 30 minutes, and I made it at 8PM after we got home and I had put the kids to bed.

Easy Chicken and Rice

1 cup rice, whatever kind you like – white, brown, anything

chicken broth, however much you need (according to your package) to cook your preferred type of rice

Garlic powder

Red onion, thinly sliced

Bell pepper, thinly sliced

Sea salt

Pepper

2 TBSP olive oil

1 cup cooked chicken, shredded or diced

1. Cook rice in broth, according to measurements and time on your package. Add in garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste.

2. In small skillet, heat oil and add peppers and onions. Saute until tender but still a little crunchy. 🙂

3. When rice is finishing up, with a little liquid left, add in cooked chicken. Fluff rice when finished cooking. Plate the chicken and rice and top with peppers and onions.

Tah-Dah! 🙂 Easy. Tasty and pretty healthy. My husband does not like chunks of onions and peppers, so I just gave him the chicken and rice (which wasn’t bland because of the broth it was cooked in!) but topped mine with the yummy peppers and onions.

You cook do a lot with this recipe, if you wanted to add other veggies. This is a good simple, starter recipe – use this way for a quick, easy healthy meal. Or Dress it up for more flavors!

Leave a Reply

