Recipe: Easy Cheesy BBQ Chicken

My mom gives me really great cookbooks for Christmas. It always takes me forever to get to making something from a new cookbook because I’m cooking out of one of the old books….because they’re pretty awesome. I have a book from her called Crock Pot Busy Family Recipes. I wouldn’t call us a “busy” family as far as outside the house, but there are those days that I wait too long before remembering dinner and it is too late to pull frozen meat out to make. This book has really helped with getting really tasty food made in the slow cooker, so that I don’t have to stress at 4:30PM! The following recipe has recently become a favorite of ours, which surprised me because I do NOT like Swiss cheese. In this recipe, though, it is amazing!

Easy Cheesy BBQ Chicken

6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I substitute several frozen boneless, skinless chicken thighs because they have been cheaper lately…and the thigh is juicier than the breast, especially in the crockpot)

1 bottle (26 ounces) barbecue sauce (you could sub a homemade sauce, just do like 3 cups or more of it)

6 slices bacon

6 slices Swiss cheese (1/2 slice for kid portions in our house)

1. Place chicken in slow cooker. Cover with barbecue sauce. Cover; cook on LOW 8-9 hours. (add water if sauce becomes too thick)

2. Before serving, cut bacon slices in half. Cook bacon in microwave or on stove top (I did ours in the oven – foil covered baking sheet. 350 degrees for 20 minutes or so, til cooked. Less mess, just pick up and close up foil that has grease on it and toss out! Pan should be clean enough to just put away without washing!!). Place 2 pieces cooked bacon on each chicken breast in slow cooker. Top with cheese. Cover; cook on HIGH until cheese melts.

Here are my changes: I used 1/2 slice per serving on the kid portions and only 1 slice on the adults. I didn’t put the bacon and cheese on in the crockpot. Instead I plated the chicken, then topped with cheese (that I let sit on the counter for about 30 minutes to let warm from the fridge temp) and the bacon slice. The chicken was hot enough to melt the cheese, then the bacon piece “stuck” in it.

DELICIOUS! I made it for the second week in a row this week and just made it without the bacon because I was running out of time and forgot to start the oven to bake it. It is SO good! Again, I don’t like Swiss cheese normally, but for some reason it is absolutely delicious on the bbq sauce.

We sat the chicken with cheese and bacon on top of a pile of mashed potatoes and used some of the extra sauce from the slow cooker as a gravy/sauce on the potatoes too. Mmmm.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

