Homeschool

Homeschool Checkup: Sanity….needed….soon

Wow! I cannot believe we’re halfway through September already!

I have been struggling with organization since we started school….which really amazes me. Usually I am so strict with schedule and organizing and everything that goes with it, but I feel so scatter-brained and lost.

School has been going well, though, so I can’t complain about the craziness too much.

Iris is doing great with math so far this year. She typically struggles with math, so after last year’s difficulties I decided to change curriculum. Instead of the Horizons Math curriculum, we are using Saxon. And I love it! She is very hands-on and needs lots of examples, but I think all the colors and illustrations in the Horizons math was actually distracting her. Too much going on in each lesson with the colored pictures. Saxon is very simple and there are NO colored pictures for her to doodle on. It is exactly as I remember math pages….very boring looking. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t mind the plain stuff, but I thought she needed more to engage her. I was so wrong. She is really excelling and has actually FINALLY mastered her doubles (2+2, 3+3, etc). I knew she was falling behind on those memory items, so it is really great to see her catching up. Saxon has a one-minute fact sheet before each lesson, to help with the memory of doubles or the plus-one or whatever they’ve been working on. Iris does very well and really tries to get a perfect score. It is wonderful to see her get excited about it! She still doesn’t like to read very much; she does well with reading, so I think she assumes she doesn’t need “practice.” I am hoping to soon spark that love for reading that I have. She signed up for a homeschool book club yesterday at the library. It is for 2nd to 6th graders, and she is reading one of the Magic Treehouse books for the October meeting. She seems really excited about it and already read a chapter….on her own, without my prompting. So, hopefully this getting together with other readers for a “club” will grow that love of reading.

Lily is doing well in her subjects also. She is doing exceptionally well with her math. So much so, in fact, that I am considering moving her further into the Saxon 1st grade book. She seems to know everything we’ve gone over and can whiz through the lesson and both sides of the work page. I don’t want to move her ahead before she’s ready, but I also don’t want her to get bored and lose interest in math.

Her reading is going great, too! She is moving on to new sounds (digraphs and whatnot) and has a photographic memory that helps with new sight words. She really does amaze me, but I try not to overly praise her in front of Iris. I don’t want Iris to think she’s not as good, but I do want Lily to know she’s doing really well.

Addy is more interested in school. She is writing more letters and is very excited to have her own school binder for this year. She feels like a big kid now!

Arthur is absorbing more than I thought he would. He can tell me the spelling of Addy’s name. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ethan enjoys his morning nap during school and watching from his exersaucer seat!

I know as the year goes on and we aren’t out and about any more due to he cold, we will find a regular routine that suits us. For now, I am treating the chaos as a fun challenge of sorts.

Leave a Reply

