Smart Housekeeping: Homemade All-Purpose Cleaner

The price of cleaners for your home is outrageous lately! And have you noticed how many chemicals are in everything these days?!

I have tried (not always succeeding) to move away from commercial cleaners and find homemade ones to replace them. My little ones seem to put their mouths on EVERYTHING, and it grosses me out to think of them licking a spot I just sprayed with a cleaner that has a huge “WARNING: POISON” message on it!

If it’s poisonous….why do them sell them to us for use around little kids???

Ok, stepping off the soapbox…

I have discovered a “recipe” for our family’s new all-purpose cleaner. I tinkered around with a few recipes I found online, and the one I ended up with smells the best and seems to clean the best for us.

Feel free to use this recipe and make it your own….change things, share it, do whatever. If you can cut the cost of buying a cleaner and still get a clean home…why not!

1/4 to 1/2 cup white vinegar

2 cups water

25-30 drops of lemon essential oil

Put in a spray bottle and shake up!

I prefer the smell of lemon essential oil to most other essential oils for my cleaning liquids. If you love lavender, then use lavender or a combo of lavender and lemon even! Use what you like, just get the house clean. 🙂

What’s your favorite homemade cleaner scent or recipe?

Leave a Reply

