Bake It Tuesday

Potty training has commenced here for Buddy. He will be two next month, but he seems to be pretty aware of when he needs to use the bathroom. So, I decided to start training. It will be nice to go back down to only diapering ONE kid. 🙂

Because we are pretty confined to the house this week, I found some new recipes for baking.

Today, we made these Apple Brownies. I just pulled them out of the oven, so they will be dessert after dinner. They smell SOOOOO good. I can’t wait to eat them.

I am also working on these Oatmeal Breakfast Bars. I don’t know that we’ll eat them for breakfast, but they look like a good mid-morning snack bar. Just something different to change things up. They are in the oven now and I can really smell the maple syrup (be sure to use the REAL maple syrup and not maple-like syrup!). Yum!

The last item today is a quick one. It’s this homemade “Nesquik”. We enjoyed our homemade hot cocoa mix last winter, so I figured this was a pretty good one to try. It’s very similar to the cocoa mix. Yes, it has quite a bit of sugar, but in comparing the NUMBER of ingredients in this homemade mix and the ones in actual Nesquik…I’m much more satisfied with serving my kids the homemade kind. Why does something so simple as chocolate milk mix need SO many ingredients?! (That’s a topic for a whole different post, though…)  🙂

I’ll be making more things this week, probably, since we’ll be inside a lot, so there will be another post on baking in a few days.

What are you making/baking this week? Please share!

Leave a Reply

