Monday’s Musings

Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them!

(Psalm 127: 3-5a)

Sometimes, I hear the oddest things. I guess I should expect certain questions from people, but I always think that, as a stranger to me, people wouldn’t ask personal questions. But, I guess after you have so many kids…nothing is inappropriate to ask me?

Yesterday, I had a woman, whom I do not know, ask me:

“So, are you done having kids?”

First of all, I don’t even have to answer that question. That’s my business, not hers. 🙂 I wish I could explain the tone with which she asked the question. Asking me if I’m done having kids with a condescending tone makes me want to lie and say “well, no! I’m pregnant again right now!” (I’m not really pregnant! Please don’t start that rumor.)

I answered her politely with “I don’t know. My baby is three months old. Just enjoying my kids right now.” Her eyes got big, like she couldn’t believe I didn’t answer her with an enthusiastic “YES!”

The one thing I do LOVE is when I have just the baby with me in public and someone asks “Aw, is that your first?” I answer, “No, he’s my fifth.” They mouth drops and their eyes open big.

“Wow, your fifth?! How do you do it?”

I do plan to write a book on it all some day, even if no one actually reads it. TONS of families have even more kids than five; I don’t get why they’re asking me how I do it. But, I just love the reaction when I say it’s my fifth baby. Remember when there was a time when people weren’t surprised by big families?

Nah, me either.

I do remember being out to eat with my parents when I was younger, and some of my siblings weren’t there. Someone would say, “Wow, you have four kids?”

My mom would smile and say, “Yes, and we have 4 more that aren’t here.” I loved it! The person’s eyes would get so big! Then they’d add, “and they’re so well-behaved!” because my parents are so awesome, that they taught us how to act in public! Kinda wish more parents would take the initiative to teach their children how to act at restaurants or in the store or wherever. I understand not every trip somewhere will have perfect behavior, and I can always tell which families are just having an “off” day and which ones act like that all the time. It’s all in how the mom reacts to it.

Moms that ignore the bad behavior and just continue on, while their kids are running around or grabbing food or climbing all over the grocery cart….those are the ones that always act that way in public.

The moms that actually have a reaction to the behavior (quiet or loud, doesn’t matter) and say or do something to their kid to stop the behavior…those kids are just having a bad day.

And sometimes the mom of the constantly naughty kids is the one asking me if I’m done having kids, with her condescending tone.

Really, lady?! Why don’t you concern yourself with your kids’ behavior and leave my reproductive plans alone! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

