Review: Purex plus Fabric Softener with Crystals Fragrance

The Purex brand provided me with a sample of Purex detergent plus Fabric Softener with Crystals Fragrance for a product review. However, all the opinions expressed here are my own.

After trying (and liking) the Crystals for Baby a few weeks ago, I was excited to try this new detergent from Purex (Purex plus Fabric Softener with Crystals Fragrance) that included the Purex Crystals fragrance! The detergent also includes fabric softener, which we don’t normally use but were excited to try.

Purex plus Fabric Softener with Crystals Fragrance is a new product by Purex, which uses the DirtLift Action to “work deep into clothes to get out dirt.” It has the fragrance of Purex Crystals added to it in order to “enhance your entire laundry experience by bringing the fresh scents of line-dried laundry and clean florals into your laundry room.”

I used it on a load of towels first and LOVED how they smelled afterward! I liked the subtle but great scent the Crystals provided.

The other thing I enjoyed was the added fabric softener. I don’t typically use fabric softener because (in my opinion) I don’t see it as a necessity. If I do want to use a type of “softener” I just add vinegar to the softener dispenser. BUT, I really enjoyed the softness from having the added fabric softener. I noticed a difference.

Would I pay more for this detergent to get the added softness? Probably not. I just don’t find fabric softener to be a necessity. But, again, that’s just me. If you use softener, then this may be a new way to go…not having to buy it separate from the detergent.

The ONLY thing I did not enjoy was its effect on my baby’s skin. I know babies have sensitive skin, but since I don’t separate baby clothes from the rest of our loads I went ahead and washed some of his things with the Purex plus Fabric Softener with Crystals Fragrance. He almost immediately started to have a reaction on his chin and lower face when it touches his clothing that was washed in it. 😦

While I enjoyed the Purex Crystals for Baby, I understand now that this new detergent is not going to be the detergent I’d use to wash baby clothes in.

“New Purex plus Fabric Softener with Crystals Fragrance is available in the liquid detergent aisle at your local Walmart, Target, Kroger and other Purex retailers.”

Leave a Reply

