Three Things I Will Change

I make a lot of excuses for things I don’t want/like to do. I can be pretty lazy about certain things, but I have found three things I will change. I need to change them because they are very important to my health and my baby’s health.

1. I WILL DRINK MORE WATER.

I have never been great at drinking a good amount of water. I either drink milk or I sometimes just don’t drink anything. As a pregnant or nursing mom, it is so important to drink a lot of water. While nursing, I need to make sure I stay hydrated. I am awful at this.

My mom tells me so often to drink a glass of water each time I sit to nurse the baby. My baby eats so often, you’d think I’d be great at being hydrated. I don’t drink water when I nurse, though, so I know I’m not where I should be with the water drinking. I will change this.

2. I WILL SPEAK SOFTLY IN THE HOUSE…unless it’s an emergency.

Seriously, I yell so much. And then when the kids yell, I yell at them for yelling. ?!? That’s so backwards! I have read several blogs/articles lately about speaking softly in the home. I envy those moms that speak in soft voices and their kids listen immediately. I wish I had started that when I had my first child. Now, I know it’ll be so much more work because I didn’t. 😦

3. I WILL PRAY FOR MY HUSBAND MORE OFTEN.

I have been doing better with this, but I want it to be so much more instinctively rather than an after-thought. I am reading the book The Power of a Praying Wife. It is so convicting for me about how I speak to, treat, and pray for my husband. How can I expect him to be a certain way if I’m not acting as I should?

That’s all for now. 🙂 These things have just been on my mind, so I thought I’d share. They’re not New Years resolutions or anything, just things I want to change about myself.

Did you make any resolutions for this year? Are you sticking with them?

 

2 thoughts on “Three Things I Will Change

  1. You and I are such similar women!! I HATE drinking water, but living in Colorado (like nursing) make it essential to healthy living. I go through streaks where I do really well, and really bad!! I try to just keep a water bottle with me, and actually end up drinking most of my water at my desk and in the car. Once I hit home, it is awfully hard.

    I absolutely hate when I loose my temper and yell at my children. It is something I am working on, but I am from a family of yellers, so I am fighting a lot more than just self-control!! 🙂 The book Scream Free Parenting is really good for this!!

    I read Power of a Praying Wife, Praying Parent, and one other of hers I think. They are amazing and the words stay with you. I read Praying Wife about 7-8 years ago, and I still pray for Vince using all the things I learned in that book!

    I am proud of you and wish you the best on your resolutions!! We spoke to Madison and Benjamin about making a sacrifice during lent this year. Madison’s idea was that he would only have dessert 4 times a week instead of 7!! It is a bit of a challenge to get them to give up something they love, but I think we have found something that will work. Vince is giving up his PS3 game and I am giving up junk food (I LOVE to eat chips at night or make a quick run through Taco Bell for supper).

    • Thanks for the suggestion of Scream Free Parenting. I’ll definitely look into that. I am struggling the MOST with the yelling. With the kids having been sick all last week and now into this week, I am exhausted and use that as justification for yelling. My throat is scratchy today, so I might actually lose my voice due to a cold! 🙂 God works in funny ways!
      Good for the boys! I hope they stick with it for Lent. And hopefully Vince can make it the 40 days without his game. 🙂
      Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

