Recipes

Recipe: Homemade Hamburger Buns

We love bread here. Seriously. We eat it every day.

Because we love it so much, it is one of the things I will NOT buy at the grocery store. We eat so much of it, I would like to avoid all of the preservatives and crazy, unpronounceable ingredients.

I do use white flour (unbleached, but I realize it is still refined and not the healthiest), but I’m confident that homemade bread with white flour is still healthier than store-bought.

For quick rolls for dinner, I typically make these 40 Minute Rolls; they are tasty and quick. The recipe only makes about 12 small, slightly dense rolls (great for a side with soup but that’s about it). Tonight, though, I need 16 buns for pizza burgers, so I went on a search for a bigger, fluffier roll to use as a bun.

I found this recipe for burger buns. I decided to try them. Instead of doing the dough work by hand, I decided to throw it all into the bread machine for the dough cycle. Right now, they are on their second rise on the baking sheets. Hopefully they turn out big enough to use for the pizza burgers. šŸ™‚ (The recipe says it make 12 buns, but my dough rose a bit more than I thought, so I’m trying to stretch it to 16 buns. Not sure if that was smart or not…)

DSCN2586

I’ll let you know how it goes!

 

 

Leave a Reply

