Review: 20 Mule Team Borax

Borax provided a free sample of their product for this post. My participation is voluntary and my opinions are my own.

borax

I recently received the opportunity to try out 20 Mule Team Borax. I think I’ve mentioned on here that I wanted to make my own laundry detergent. Most of the “recipes” I found for the homemade stuff had Borax as one of the main ingredients, so I was very excited to try Borax for this review!

Here are some interesting facts I learned about Borax:

  • 20 Mule Team Borax is 100% natural mineral from the earth.
  • Borax is the common name for sodium tetraborate: a naturally occurring substance produced by the perpetual evaporation of seasonal lakes.
  • Nothing is added to 20 Mule Team Borax…no phosphates, chlorine or other additive chemicals.

We have very hard water here….and no water softener yet. I have been worried about how the hard water will affect our clothes as well as the washing machine. I am happy to report that Borax will help soften our water when we wash!

I am enjoying the benefits of adding just 1/2 cup of Borax with my powder detergent to naturally soften our laundry water and boost our detergent’s power. I am still finishing up commercial detergents I had on hand, so I haven’t yet tried the homemade recipe. BUT, I like what I’ve seen so far. Maybe it’s just my wishful thinking, but I feel like our clothes ARE cleaner. I am certain the Borax will be just as great once I make our own detergent!

Interested in winning a FREE box of 20 Mule Team Borax?!

I am having a giveaway. THREE people will receive a coupon good for ONE FREE BOX OF BORAX!

To enter, the only requirement is to please post a comment below….Tell me what your LEAST favorite thing about laundry is: sorting, washing, folding or putting away? 🙂 Do this by January 17, 2013 11:59PM (Central time). I will pick a winner on January 18th and notify you by email, so BE SURE TO INCLUDE YOUR EMAIL with your post/entry! (Winners will be picked using a random number generator.)

You can earn an additional entry if you “Like” the Borax Facebook page. Come back here and post an additional comment that you Like the page. (And be honest….I will be verifying.) 🙂

Good luck! And thanks for reading!!

12 thoughts on “Review: 20 Mule Team Borax

  1. I hate folding AND putting it away! I usually have to run the fluff cycle once or twice before I get around to going any further with it!

  2. Liked them too! I Becca and I have been talking about making out own laundry detergent. The stuff from the store is SO expensive!!

  3. I don’t like putting the clothes away after they’ve been washed. I can handle the sorting, washing, folding (soothing in some weird way), but the putting away part is the worst. I usually leave it to my husband and if I’m lucky, he will actually put it all away (in the right spots!).

  4. Georgia’s teacher uses Borax as the main ingredient in her homemade Gak. Georgia (and the boys too) LOVE to play with it! I can’t wait to try it at home!!

    • Oh, and my least favorite thing about laundry is sorting clothes as I fold the clean ones. It drives me crazy to have to make piles for Vince, Madison, Benjamin, Georgia, Towels, Kitchen towels, and then myself!!! No couch or bed is big enough for so many piles!! 🙂

  5. I hate switching it from the washer to the dryer! Touching all the wet clothes really gross me out! I love folding fresh out of the dryer clothes!

  6. I hate folding laundry – especially socks! Been thinking about making my own laundry detergent too, just need to use all of my stock at home first. I liked the Borax Facebook page too.

  7. I bought a box for the ant problem..It works! Read where it is great in laundry. Tried it. Wonderful! Better then bleach. And then I read the septic tank safe and I am sold. Let my grand daughter know so she can use it cause they have horrible hard water. My grandmother always used Borax and so did my mother. I am 77 yrs old.

  8. I learned recently that Borax is actually not as natural and friendly as I had always believed. It says “natural” on the box after all! Here’s the rating it gets from the Environmental Working Group: http://www.ewg.org/guides/cleaners/2507-20MuleTeamBoraxNaturalLaundryBoosterMultiPurposeHouseholdCleaner

    Nothing lower than a B enters my house and even products scoring a B are questionable to me. Borax has a high concern for developmental and reproductive toxicity according to the EWG. I decided to remove this from my laundry regime and found something healthy instead.

    • Thanks for sharing! Since writing that review, I have stopped using Borax. I use Melaleuca’s MelaPower laundry detergent, as it is much safer for our skin and household! I appreciate the info and link!!

Leave a Reply

