Household · lessons in love · Organization

Baby Update: 36 Weeks

Things are moving right along here. Well, most things anyhow.

We are stomach flu-free, as far as we know! Only Addy and I got it, thankfully. What a nasty couple of days – third trimester and vomiting are a bad combo. 😦

Today I am exactly 36 weeks, and my belly is measuring right at 36 weeks. Heart rate is great and weight gain is typical…..big. πŸ™‚ I am close to a record for my weight gain, and I find it kind of exciting. Something to track and laugh at…and then worry about losing after the baby. Ha! People keep saying I look small still, so I’m not sure where the pounds are going but they are here.

The kids came with me to my midwife appointment today. They haven’t had to go with the last few visits because they were on my husband’s days off. All three girls were fighting to squirt the gel onto the “baby microphone”. The midwives are really nice and patient with the kids, always trying to get them involved. So, today, Addy got to hold the tape measure for the belly measurement. Iris got to squirt the ultrasound gel onto the “microphone” and Lily got to hold the speaker and listen to the rhythm of the heart beat. Buddy just kind of sat there, saying “light” and pointing to the ceiling. πŸ™‚

With regard to my make-ahead meals, I started working on them Sunday. I woke up and was ready to take the kids to church myself…until I actually stood up. My hips were so sore, and all I could think about was lifting Buddy in and out of the car and walking up and down the halls dropping off and picking up the kids from their classes. So, I chickened out and we stayed home while Arthur was at work. There was no evening AWANA this week, so we missed church altogether on Sunday. I was bummed, but I laid down for a while in the morning and stretched some, hoping the soreness would go away. It didn’t. So, I sat the counter in the kitchen and made muffins. Since it was something I could do sitting most of the time, it felt nice and productive. I made 2 dozen oatmeal chocolate chip muffins and froze half of them.

Yesterday, I used up some frozen bananas and made 1 loaf of banana bread, cutting it into slices before I froze it.

Today, I am working on a big pan of coffee cake, half of which I’ll freeze. The other half will be kept out for tomorrow’s breakfast.

My plans are to make dinner items the rest of the week, but we’ll see how that goes. πŸ™‚

Iris has been trying my patience during school time, so we’ve been spending extra time working on reading and word recognition. This means other things (like TV, games and playtime) have been lost for her, and I’ve been stuck sitting near her to make sure she finishes her work. Obviously, school comes first, but I don’t understand her phase this week. Maybe she’s tired or acting out because another little one’s coming. Who knows. Either way, it’s trying! πŸ™‚

So, a few more weeks until baby is here. He better rest up because these siblings of his are going to really run him ragged! πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

