Mozzarella Meatballs

Been a while since I posted a recipe, and since our plans to travel to my parents’ have been delayed until tomorrow….figured I could post one. 🙂

I made this up today. It combines some seasoning from other recipes I’ve used and substitutions and additions I threw in on my own!

Mozzarella Meatballs

2 lbs ground beef  (or whatever ground meat your family likes)

2 cups crushed crackers (or bread crumbs)

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Garlic powder ( no measurement, to taste?)

Onion powder (no measurement, to taste?)

salt and pepper

2 eggs

2 tsp dried parsley

1/2 cup or more water

Combine everything but the water in a big bowl. Mix well. Add enough water to keep meatballs held together, but not so much that it’s mushy. Use mini ice cream scoop to make meatballs and place on foil-lined baking pans (I needed a baking pan and a 8×8 baking dish to hold all of ours….and they were still cramped). Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes, or until browned and cooked through. I always cut open one in the middle of the pan/tray to make sure it’s not pink.

Tonight, I’m making them and I think we’re getting 34 balls out of the mixture. So, we’ll eat them for dinner and freeze the rest.

TO FREEZE: Place meatballs on waxed paper-lined baking pan and place pan in freezer. Once frozen most of the way (about an hour or so), remove from wax paper and place in freezer bag. Flash freezing them on pan first keeps them from sticking together in the freezer bag.

We are enjoying these tonight with a simple orzo salad (orzo toasted in butter, then cooked in vegetable broth. toss in some cheese and parsley after it cooks) and cooked carrots. Yum!

 

3 thoughts on “Mozzarella Meatballs

  1. Hi Angie! This is totally random, and hope you don’t think it’s weird — but I’m a friend of your sister Mindy (we were roommates in college) and somehow I came across your blog through something I saw on her Facebook. This recipe looks super yummy and I’m definitely going to try it!

    • Hi Amy! No, I don’t think it’s weird at all! 🙂 Thanks for commenting. Let me know if you like the recipe when you try it. I’m always curious if other people think things are as tasty as I do! HAHA! 🙂

Leave a Reply

