Uncategorized

Babies and Bread and Bundling Up

Yesterday was pretty chilly here! I think the high was in the low 30’s. Brrr. The kids and I had to run to the library at 3:30PM because someone forgot that she had 24 books that were due on the 9th and the 3-day grace period ended yesterday. Oops! We hurried over after naps to return all the books…and ended up bringing home about 25 more for school and elective reading. We always manage to bring home a HUGE amount of books. I know it’s a good thing; my back does not agree. 🙂

I will admit I am not looking forward to the bundling up of five children this winter, especially if it’ll be on days when I’m with them by myself. I get so sweaty bundling them up that I don’t want to bundle myself (and I regret that about 2 minutes after I walk out the door).  The kids don’t like to bundle either. Buddy squirms to get away from me, so he doesn’t have to put on a hat. Addy takes her hat off as soon as I put it on. Iris puts on her hat, but she won’t cover her ears with it. Lily likes to wear her hat, but it’s almost too small; she keeps trying to wear it, though, even when I say to get a bigger hat out of the closet!

Today isn’t quite as cold, but Arthur and I do have to go out tonight for a hospital tour. Yay! I am pretty excited about that because it means baby is almost here. After a lot of worry about babysitting, we found a neighbor who has agreed to sit with the kids for us while we go on the tour. I am so thankful for her! She has just one sweet little girl, so hopefully she isn’t scared off by my chatty children. 🙂

As a thank you, I am making some pumpkin bread and oatmeal chocolate chip muffins to give to her. I did fail to ask her about any food allergies, so hopefully my baked goods will be ok for them to eat.

I am (literally) getting bigger by the day! I gained 3 pounds in 2 weeks and weigh more than my husband. Of course, weighing more than him is not really that hard to do because he is so thin. 🙂 I am about 9 pounds away from beating my weight gain with Buddy and weighing the most EVER. I have mixed feelings about that – do I want to beat my record or should I be worried about this baby being even bigger than my 8 pound 10 ounce Buddy? Ouch!

I ate way too much for lunch – a pile of refried beans and a chicken cordon bleu. Yes, those are 2 foods that should never be combined for a meal, but they both sounded so delicious. I am regretting that craving now. BLEH! And now I have to go bake. Awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

