Menu Plan

Menu Plan: November 6 – 14

The holidays are fast-approaching, and I am getting nervous. This will be our first attempt to be with family as usual for holidays….and have a baby somewhere in the midst of it all! 🙂

I have my plans, still, to make meals ahead of time, but I am finding less and less actual TIME to make them! I am hoping to get some breakfast breads made this week, at least.

A new endeavor I’ve taken on is emergency food supply. With all the natural disasters we read about and having a new baby in the house (and then FIVE children to cart around town), I figured some kind of food supply for the winter is probably a really good idea. We don’t live far from the stores, but if we have a bad snowstorm and the roads are blocked (country roads combined with wind and snow is NOT a great combo!), there is no way I’ll be able to get out with all five kids to pick up groceries. My plan is to grab extra items each week to keep on hand for extra meals in case we can’t get out for a day or two…or more. Of course, this means we would go without fresh foods, but I think we’ll be alright.

Here’s my menu for this week, as well as the baked goods we’ll have on hand:

BREAKFAST –

Pancakes, fruit

Coffee Cake, fruit

Cereal (yes, I let the kids buy totally unhealthy cereal as a “treat” for this week….my pregnancy hormones have made me crazy! HAHA!), fruit x 2

Banana Chocolate Chip Baked Oatmeal

Cooked oatmeal, fruit

Eggs, Toast, fruit x 2

LUNCH –

Leftovers x 3

PB & Honey, pineapple slices x 2

Buttered Noodles, carrot sticks, fruit

Pick up lunch (we had company Sunday and decided to pick up hot dogs and beef sandwiches to enjoy…..yuuuummmm!)

DINNER –

Grilled hamburgers and hot dogs (Arthur grilled in the 40 degree weather…so tasty!), rice pilaf, carrot sticks

Enchilada Casserole, Carrot Sticks

Risotto, Corn, Carrot Sticks, Pineapple, Bread

Lentils & Rice, Salads, Bread

Spanish Rice Skillet, Green Beans

Lemon Rice Soup, Bread

Ham & Bean Soup, Cornbread

Chicken Barley Soup, Bread, Carrot Sticks

HOMEMADE –

Bread x 3

Granola Bars

Chicken Broth

 

Leave a Reply

