Homemade Applesauce

 

This week, I worked on making some applesauce. I was hoping to do a lot and can it all, but I ended up with about 6 pounds of apples and only four 16 ounce containers, so I froze them. That left about 8 ounces for us to have with dinner last night.

I typically add cinnamon to every batch of applesauce I make, but I decided to lightly sweeten it with organic sugar and leave out anything else. Applesauce it so good, even without any extras!

I am hoping to get more apples and can the applesauce next time. It is so easy to make, here’s how I do it:

– Apples (any kind that you like)

-1/4 cup (more or less to taste) per pound of apples

– Extras: cinnamon, nutmeg

1. Peel, core and quarter apples and place in a pot. Add a little water to keep from sticking to pan (I used about 1/2 cup water with my 6 pounds of apples yesterday.

2. Cover and bring to boil on stove top. Boil for a few minutes, stirring to keep apples rotated into boiling water at bottom.

3. Lower heat and simmer until apples all become mushy. Then, you can either remove the mushy apples from pot and mash them in food processor or blender. OR, you can just mash them with your potato masher right in pot (removed from heat). The latter option gives a chunky applesauce (we LOVE!).

4. Return to low heat and add in sugar and any extras. Stir until completely mixed in. Remove from heat and let sit til cools to room temperature before placing in covered containers.

Freeze for up to a year. Or you can eat it all right away! šŸ˜‰

 

One thought on “Homemade Applesauce

  1. Pingback: Simple Garden Recipes: Cinnamon Applesauce « Putney Farm

Leave a Reply

