Recipe: Chicken Gumbo

 

Yesterday was my husband’s birthday. It was also our busiest day of this week! I thought Tuesday was going to be the busiest, but I was wrong. Yesterday, we had school to do, my midwife appointment at 11am, lunch and naps to get in, then a grocery trip to cover meals through next Friday. Ugh! PLUS, we wanted to make it a special dinner and dessert for Dad! I found a recipe for Chicken Gumbo in the October issue of Family Circle magazine. My husband loves meat, but we’ve been cutting back to meals with meat for only 3-4 nights each week. To celebrate his birthday, I thought we’d try the Chicken Gumbo because it has TWO meats in it. 🙂

Below is the recipe from the magazine and my changes in parentheses. 🙂

CHICKEN GUMBO

2 tbsp vegetable oil

7 oz kielbasa (I had a 12 ounce package and used it all!)

1 1/4 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 1 inch pieces (I found less expensive boneless, skinless chicken thighs at Whole Foods to use.)

4 cloves garlic, chopped (We used garlic powder, as I have sensitivity to garlic, I’ve noticed, when I use actual cloves. Too overpowering, I think.)

1 can (14.5 oz) stewed tomatoes (Used canned diced tomatoes.)

2 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth (Used 2 cups homemade veggie broth from freezer)

1 pkg (8 oz) frozen okra, thawed (I omitted this. Ew.)

1 tsp dried oregano (I omitted this as well. We do not enjoy oregano.)

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

1 cup instant rice (Used 1 cup brown rice. Not instant.)

4 scallions, sliced (Omitted….because I forgot to cut them!)

-Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add kielbasa and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add chicken and garlic; cook for 5 more minutes, stirring.

-Add tomatoes, breaking apart with a wooden spoon, the chicken broth, okra, 1 cup water, oregano, salt and pepper. Simmer for 3 minutes; stir in rice and simmer for 3 additional minutes. (Since I didn’t use instant rice, I simply cooked the brown rice separate with the broth and then added it to the other ingredients when it was also cooked, so it could finish cooking with the seasonings and other items.)

-To serve, spoon into individual bowls and garnish with scallions. (I would have, had I remembered to cut the scallions and not been rushed when it was time to sit and eat!) 🙂

After running around all day, this was an easy meal to make and let sit to keep warm until we’re ready to eat.

Very tasty meal! We will definitely make this again for a special occasion. With the cost of meat, it won’t be a weekly option. 🙂 BUT, it made for a nice dinner for Dad!

 

Leave a Reply

