Kitchen · Menu Plan · Recipes

Freezer Filling

Like I mentioned yesterday, I am catching up on Money Saving Mom’s 4 Weeks to Fill Your Freezer Challenge. Because my shopping last week didn’t allow me to collect the items for freezing lunches, I am doing both lunches and dinners this week. Whew! It is crazy busy in here while doing that!

This is our last week of school and the weather has been beautiful, so we’re trying to cram a lot in each day between playing outside, school work, freezer foods, and church activities! I could just push the dinners to next week, but why not do it ALL in one week?! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I’m slightly crazy.

Yesterday, while heating up leftovers for lunch, I put together 21 PB&J sandwiches for the freezer. It smelled so good, I ended up eating one before the other 20 made it into the freezer!

During the girls’ naps (Buddy did NOT want to sleep….it was awesome…not), I made 3 pounds of ground beef and ingredients into almost 100 meatballs. I made them pretty small, which means less cutting up for the kids when we use them. I froze 73 of them and kept the rest out to bake for dinner. Turned out great! The recipe for the meatballs and sauce both were different from my regular recipe, but it was so delicious! I had 8 of them for dinner. ๐Ÿ™‚

Today, I’m going to tackle the brown bag burritos (lunch freezer item) and a double recipe of lasagna casserole. One of the casseroles will be dinner tonight, so only one will go into the freezer. But that’s fine with me….every little bit helps!

I am also going to mix up some more homemade baking mix, since I only did half of the recipe last time….I’m out after making cinnamon roll biscuits this morning! I plan to make the whole recipe this time, so it lasts longer.

I eased up on the organics this week in groceries. Everything fresh was organic – produce and meats, but some of the canned items I bought were not. Refried beans, enchilada sauce, tortillas, and pizza sauce were non-organic. Some of my dairy products weren’t organic either – the cheeses and cottage cheese. Since I was buying in bulk, I decided it was ok to take a break this one time. Our tummies might not be too happy with me when we eat these foods, but hopefully it’ll be alright. I still bought organic milks for drinking. The non-organic items are all things that are going to be mixed into recipes, so it’ll be ok…right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Hopefully I am as successful with my cooking and baking as I’m envisioning!

Leave a Reply

