Weekly Recap

I am so lazy today. Arthur had to go in to work on his day off for a few hours, so I am doing absolutely nothing so far today. 🙂 The girls have been rotting their brains to cartoons all morning. I finally took a shower about an hour ago. I have some cleaning to do and have very good intentions of getting it done, but I just don’t see it happening until nap time!

School went well this week. We’re all starting to get the itch for Summer break. I thought it would make us all a bit antsy, but it’s actually motivating the girls and myself to focus and get done what we need to get done. Yay!

Iris is reading great. She is working on long vowel words and has taken to them so well. I am extremely impressed. Lily is working on sight words while Iris is reviewing the ones she’s learned so far. Addy has kind of quit on school, unless she gets to color a journal page. 🙂 I’m okay with that – she has done a great job this year with her busy box activities and sitting through Bible lessons and crafts. I’m super proud of her attention span. I mean, she’s only 2! She will be 3 next week, though! I just can’t believe it! She is still so tiny.

I successfully got up at 5:20 every day this week! I’m proud of myself. It was a struggle, but I felt so much better for doing it. I was able to not have to rush and get breakfast made, chores got done without rushing, and I felt much more relaxed when it was time to start school.

We are all fighting the tail end of a cold, so I wasn’t sure about getting up early. I’m glad I did, though, because the girls decided to get up early every day this week, too. Mostly because they were coughing. Everyone was up by 6 AM every day. Ugh! That is pretty draining for a Mom by lunch time! But, they also took decent naps because of the illness and ate well, so I won’t complain.

Yes, this is our first bout of illness since going organic. Wasn’t sure what to expect, but I think we did pretty good. The girls took some all natural cough medicine (Hyland’s brand), and I drank  A LOT of hot honey and lemon water. The yucky feeling lasted way shorter than before we were eating this well, and now we’re just dealing with the drainage that makes us cough. We are all feeling great and sleeping well. It started last Friday for Arthur and I, so I feel like it isn’t lasting as long as the colds use to, when we weren’t eating organic or being careful of the medicines we take.

I am on my 3rd full day of the oil-cleansing method for face wash. And I’m still loving it. I am excited to see how it works long-term, but for now it is working great to help regulate the oil on my face and help heal my breakout much faster.

Buddy is awake now, so I’ll wrap this up. Today we are going out to the new house to see the progress. Last Friday, they had the entire frame up, including the roof. Not sure how much they’ll have done since we had rain at the beginning of the week, but hopefully they got some windows on. Here’s the latest picture from 8 days ago.

They were working on the roof while we were there, and our construction manager emailed me that evening to say it was finished by the end of the day! They work so fast! I just can’t wait to get in there! So thankful this is happening!

Leave a Reply

