Household · Recipes

Oil-Cleansing Method

I’ve been dealing with acne and imbalanced skin since I was about 14 years old, so I decided to start researching alternative face cleansers. I have taken pills for my acne, rubbed prescription creams on my face and back (yes, the dreaded acne on my back! very embarrassing for a teenage girl), and tried what seemed like every affordable face wash under the sun. I refused to spend $30 for a face wash – mostly because I never could afford it.

I thought I had it under control right around when I got married, but then I started having children. Pregnancy hormonal changes really do a number on your skin. I was back to the confusing bi-weekly breakout and constant blackhead war. It was very embarrassing to me. Here I was 23 years old, married and with a baby but my face looked like I was still 14! As if I didn’t have enough to worry about with my first baby, I was stressing over my skin, too!

For the past 6 years, I have continued to struggle with acne breakouts and still did not find a product to combat what seemed like an overabundance of oils in certain areas of my face and dessert-like dryness in other areas.

This past Fall, my family and I started switching from a conventional diet to a natural and organic one. That change affected my face drastically! All the impurities from my body were coming out through the pores on my face. Hello again, ACNE!  I have been struggling more than ever for the past 5 months to get this acne under control.

Just last month, I came across several blogs online that talked about a natural face cleanser than could be made at home. I am often skeptical at first of homemade cleaning agents because I always feel like maybe the chemicals that I grew up with would be the most effective. After reading several people’s opinions on the natural, homemade face wash, I decided to give it a try. It would give me a break on buying any more face wash for a while.

Well, then I noticed I still had 3/4 of my current bottle of face wash left. I couldn’t justify buying the ingredients to make my own and waste the money I had already put into the current face wash. So, I vowed to finish up what I was using and then make my own.

That was about a month ago, and I caved about a week after that and bought the supplies to make my own. I just can’t take this crazy cycle of acne and oiliness on my face!

The homemade face wash I’ve been reading about uses the oil-cleansing method. When I first read the title, I thought it was going to be a way to rid my face of oil. Wrong. 🙂 As I read, I didn’t think it could work on my face. The method works by combining 2 oils and massaging then into your face before applying a hot wash cloth. Rub oils on my face?! I was reluctant but decided to just go ahead and buy the ingredients to have this face wash ready for as soon as my current one ran out.

Here’s the ingredients:

castor oil

sunflower oil (or any other vegetable oil)

That’s it! I used 1 part castor oil to 3 parts sunflower oil because of my combination skin.

Sound a little gross to use castor oil, but if you read about the oil-cleansing method it is explained why castor oil is perfect.

I am almost out of my commercial face wash, so last night I was staring at the disgusting breakout on my face and went ahead with my homemade oil wash.

It was very awkward at first, rubbing oils on my already oily face, but the hot wash cloth felt really great. I massaged the oil into my face and neck (while my makeup was still on) and laid a hot, wet wash cloth over my face until it cooled. I repeated the wash cloth part twice and gently wiped off the oil and makeup after each wash cloth application. I realized my water-proof mascara was still on and SURPRISINGLY it came off with ease just rubbing the wash cloth over my eyes. The oil even helped get that off!

Afterward, I felt like my face was oily, but about 5 minutes later I noticed how shiny (but NOT oily) it was. It felt really nice! I was excited to see how it was in the morning.

This morning, I woke up for the FIRST TIME EVER without an extremely oily nose! I was very impressed. Maybe there’s something to this oil method. I noticed my breakout areas weren’t red and my very dry areas were flaky. It really was amazing. Just from rubbing oils on my face.

I plan to continue to use this method every night. I read that it should keep me from having to use any wash on my face in the morning, but I’m not quite that confident yet. 🙂 I am using my commercial wash until it’s finished as my morning wash. I hope that doesn’t mess up the progress my face makes with this oil-cleansing method.

This is definitely something I’d recommend trying. Castor oil cost me $1.99 at Meijer. The sunflower oil cost me a bit more because I didn’t have it on hand. I chose organic, cold-pressed sunflower oil at Whole Foods for $4.99 on sale. That still wasn’t too bad. Total of $7 or so and you don’t use a whole lot of each at one time, so it’s going to last me longer than any other face wash I purchased for $7! 🙂

Two thumbs up here from me for the oil-cleansing method!

 

3 thoughts on “Oil-Cleansing Method

Leave a Reply

