Recipe: Sloppy Joe Casserole

I snagged this tasty recipe from my free subscription to Family Circle magazine. I changed a few things, but for the most part it is the same. My changes are in red. And unless noted, you can assume everything I used was organically grown or raised.

1 TBSP olive oil

2 large onions, chopped (I used only 1/2 of an onion, diced….2 onions seemed like a lot of onion for a 9×13 dish!)

2 green peppers, cored, seeded and chopped (I used 1 cup of diced green pepper I had in the freezer. Again, 2 whole peppers seemed like a lot to me.)

2 cloves garlic, chopped (I used the equivalent to 2 cloves from minced garlic I had on hand)

1 package (12 ounces) soy crumbles (I used 1 pound ground beef. We have yet to try soy crumbles, but I’m sure it’d be good in this dish!)

1 can (8 ounces) no-salt-added tomato sauce (I used 1 small can tomato paste and mixed with 15 ounces water to get my 8 ounces of tomato sauce. Refrigerated leftover sauce to use later this week)

3 TBSP red wine vinegar

1 TBSP reduced-sodium soy sauce (I used an msg-free kind, but it was not reduced-sodium or organic. Just using up what we had.)

2 tsp sugar

1 package Arnold Pocket Thins Italian Herb flat breads (8 pocket halves), separated and split open (I used up some torta rolls we had. Just split them and used them as directed. They were not organic.)

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used 1 cup mozzarella and 1 cup cheddar. We love cheese!)

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9×13 baking dish.

2. Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onions, peppers and meat. Cook until meat is browned. Drain.

3. Add in tomato sauce, vinegar, soy sauce and sugar. Cover and reduce heat. Cook about 10 minutes.

4. Line bottom of baking dish with half of the breads. Spread half of the meat mixture over breads. Sprinkle with 1/2 of the cheese. Layer rest of breads on top, then remaining meat mixture. Then top with remaining cheese. Cover with foil.

5. Bake, covered, for 25 minutes. Cool slightly before serving.

 

This was so yummy. I like that the bottom breads were soggy (like sloppy joes can get) but the top ones were more crispy. I served this with green beans, raw carrots and cucumbers.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

