Recipes

Recipe: Easy Noodle Dinner

We have cut back on our meat consumption by a lot, so I am always trying to find tasty meatless meals. I fell into a rut the past few weeks and felt like I was making the same meatless meal over and over and over. Got REALLY old! I like complex recipes and would find some really great ones, but on Monday nights (one of our meatless nights) I need something easy and quick to make.

Mondays are our main laundry day. When you add in doing home school and playing outside in the afternoon, that leaves us with little time to work on dinner. Sure, we could cut back on playing outside but when the weather is as nice as it’s been, I find it hard to say NO to going outside all afternoon and soaking up the sunshine! Oh, and did I mention we have AWANA at church on Monday nights?! This really cuts into dinner making time!

This Monday I found myself scrambling for a recipe at 4:30PM. I had been making pearl couscous on Mondays, but for some reason I decided to make a couscous dish Sunday and figured we wouldn’t want to eat it 2 nights in a row.

I pulled out some egg noodles and some frozen organic veggies. I decided to just put somethings together to get a good amount of noodles and veggies but without using any processed things. Here’s what I came up with:

Easy Noodle Dinner

1 package egg noodles (12 ounces is what my package was, I think)

1/2 package frozen organic peas, about 8 ounces

1/2 package frozen organic corn, about 8 ounces

1 tsp minced garlic

1/4 cup diced onion

2 TBSP oil (I think I used canola – trying to use it up)

4 TBSP organic butter

2 cups organic milk

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Salt and pepper

First, bring water to boil for the noodles. While that’s working on boiling, heat oil in a saute pan. Add in onion and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 5 minutes. Add in garlic. Cook about a minute more. Add in frozen veggies and lower heat to medium-low and cover to let cook.

In a third pan, melt butter on medium heat. Add in flour and stir to combine, cooking a minute or so more after well mixed. Salt and pepper. Whisk in milk and stir occasionally, while cooking on medium heat, until mixture thickens but doesn’t boil.Remove from heat.

Once water is boiling, salt the water and add noodles. Cook slightly al dente, so they don’t stick together in a big mushy pile (which is what happened to me because I wasn’t paying attention!). Drain and return to pan.

Once veggies are heated, remove from heat and add to noodles. Stir to combine. Plate the noodle/veggie mixture and top with gravy/sauce.

I was able to make this in about 30 minutes or so. The kids were fed quickly and we were able to still play outside and get to AWANA on time!

If you aren’t a meatless family, you could throw in some shredded chicken or ground turkey or even tuna. It turns out to be sort of like a Hamburger Helper mixture (the chicken one) but much healthier. You could also substitute canned veggies for the frozen ones, just cook them a little less so you don’t burn them.

Happy creating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

