Chicken Vegetable Bake

The kids and I stayed home from church yesterday. Arthur worked, and I was so exhausted and achy. Not sure why, but I think my late nights and busy baking and school days caught up with me. Plus, I had eaten several pretty unhealthy desserts the last few days, so my body seemed to be a bit on the fritz. 🙂 Between Baker’s Square pie, DQ blizzard, and a package of peanut M&M’s, I think my stomach was so confused on how to digest it all!

Staying home yesterday was nice because we got to relax (as much as I could with 4 kids running around) and recharge. I finally found some energy around 4pm. So, I decided to use up the last of the leftover chicken from Thursday night’s whole chicken I boiled. I used a variation of this Chicken Vegetable Bake and it came out great! Had enough for dinner and leftovers for Arthur’s lunch and some to keep here. I will make note of the changes in mine below.

Chicken Vegetable Bake

Filling:

  • 1 can condensed cream of celery soup (**or chicken broth/flour, see note at bottom) – I used the chicken broth mix.
  • 1 c. light sour cream
  • 1 tsp. ground pepper
  • 1 tsp. parsley
  • ¼ c. minced onion – I only had dried onion on hand
  • 1 glove garlic, smashed – Used minced
  • ½ c. diced carrot – I put in 1 cup
  • ½ c. diced celery
  • ½ c. frozen peas
  • ½ c. frozen corn
  • 2 c. diced broccoli florets
  • 2 c. diced cooked chicken
  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Stir together condensed soup, sour cream, and pepper.
  3. Add remaining ingredients. Stir until combined.
  4. Pour into a lightly greased 9×13 pan.

Biscuit Topping:

  • 1 ¾ c. flour
  • 1 tablespoon, plus 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 ½ tsp. sugar
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 3 TB vegetable shortening, at room temperature – I used 7 tbsp in place of the shortening and butter here.
  • 4 TB unsalted butter, cold and cut into ½ inch pieces
  • 1 ¼ c. grated cheddar cheese
  • 2/3 c. buttermilk (I used 1 cup to make a “drop” biscuit type of topping and did not roll out the dough)
  1. In a food processor, pulse together flour, baking powder, sugar and salt.
  2. Add shortening and pulse until combined
  3. Add butter and pulse 5-7 times, until butter is pea-sized
  4. Add cheese, pulse until combined
  5. Pour in milk and pulse until just combined
  6. Place on a lightly floured surface and knead gently until dough comes together.  Do not overwork the dough. (if using 1 cup milk like me, just stir the dough and plop it on top of mixture in your baking dish!)
  7. Roll dough into a 9×13 rectangle and place in pan over filling.

Garlic Butter: (I didn’t use the garlic butter. Just didn’t feel like making it, plus I thought we’d like it better without)

  • 1 TB unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 clove garlic, smashed
  • 1 tsp. fresh parsley, chopped
  1. In a small bowl, combine ingredients and stir until combined.
  2. Brush over topping.
  3. Place in oven and bake for 40-45 minutes, or until topping is golden and cooked through.

**Cream soup alteration: in a saucepan, melt 3 tablespoons butter.  Whisk in 3 tablespoons flour.  Gradually whisk in 2 cups chicken broth.  Over medium heat and stirring frequently, bring sauce to a boil.  Cook and stir until thickened, about 4 minutes.  Proceed with recipe as above.

It turned out pretty good! I think next time I’d either saute the veggies a little before putting them into filling or bake this for 15 minutes more. Our veggies were a little crunchy. But we still ate it! Very healthy and delicious!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Vegetable Bake

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan: August 7 – 15 « Life As Mom Knows It

  2. Pingback: A VERY Late Menu Plan :) | Life As Mom Knows It

Leave a Reply

