Recipe: Hide It Cake

I follow a blog called Hearth and Home. I like reading her recipes, as she has a weekly baking day, when she bakes all the family’s breads and baked goods for the week. She has talked about Hide It Cake several times, and this past week she finally posted the recipe! I have been dying to get it and make it….which I did Friday night. I made a few changes to her recipe because we do not like shredded coconut and did not have pecans. Here is my variation on her awesome recipe!

Hide It Cake

Cut 1/2 cup coconut oil in small pieces in large bowl.  Add 1 cup quick oats and pour 1 1/2 cup boiling water.  Let stand for 20 minutes.

Add 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar and 2 unbeaten eggs.  Mix well.  Stir together 1 1/2 cup flour, 1 tsp soda, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon 1/4 tsp salt.  Add and mix well.

Add 1 tsp vanilla, mix well and pour in 9×13 greased pan and bake @350 for 30 minutes.

Topping

1 beaten egg
1/4 cup melted butter
1 cup chopped peanuts
3 tbsp milk
1 cup brown sugar
mix all-together and smooth over the top of cake as soon as 30 to 40 min is up (I found you have to bake the cake long enough for the top to support the topping so 30 to 40 is what it takes).  Put back in oven for 20 min or until golden brown on top.

I loved this cake! It’s so not healthy and very sugary, but it was a nice unhealthy homemade dessert. 🙂 I would say it’s still way better than the sugary desserts you buy at the store – no preservatives or weird chemical ingredients here!

The girls loved it, I loved it, Arthur liked it, my in-laws liked it and we have about 1/3 of it left now. I wouldn’t make this every week, but I can see why its name is what it is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

