Homeschool Checkup

School has been pretty uneventful this week. Iris is working on counting by 2’s – odds and evens. She is really struggling with it, and I am looking for creative ways to help her get it. Got any ideas? She struggled with learning to count by 5’s, too, so I assume it’ll just click after several more days/weeks of reviewing it. I know she is frustrated, and I (honestly) am not spending enough time on it because with us frustrated over it I don’t want to spend a lot of time on it. 😦

I will keep working on it with her. Maybe we just need a break? But, really, if anyone has a suggestion how to creatively help her remember how to count by 2’s for both odds and evens, I would REALLY appreciate it!

Lily’s been working on letter K. She is struggling with getting her uppercase; she can’t quite get her hand to go the way she wants to bring in the top slanted line to the middle of the straight line. (Did that make any sense? I wasn’t quite sure how to explain that!)

Addy didn’t do any school this week. She’s been pretty crabby, so to avoid any yelling or crying at the table I have just allowed her to go play and read quietly. It seems to have worked. 🙂

Arthur’s off today and tomorrow, so we will pick up school on Saturday. Hoping for a slightly easier time counting by 2’s!

 

2 thoughts on “Homeschool Checkup

    • I haven’t tried cards. Honestly, I haven’t tried much. I just can’t think of what could help her memorize them or understand the pattern. We’ve used the number chart on our wall, and the odds/evens are color coded. But that’s it. Thanks! I will try cards and see what else I can find.
      And thanks for the ABC award thing. I just read yours; I can’t wait to write out mine! Looks fun!

Leave a Reply

